Coming from the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycArticles is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology, containing over 100,000 articles from 59 journals. Coverage runs from 1894 to present.
The Health Research Premium Collection from Proquest provides access to the latest medical information essential for medical students and researchers . The collection includes over 4,500 full text health and medical journals, grey literature, instructional videos and more, offering a central access point to a variety of essential medical resources.
Developed in cooperation with Queen's University Belfast, JSTOR's Ireland Collection contains a minimum of 75 journals, over 200 monographs and 2,500 manuscript. The Ireland Collection adds titles and resources across the arts, humanities and sciences in disciplines such as music, art, history, literature, archaeology, mathematics and biology
JSTOR Art and Sciences Collections provide full-text and peer-reviewed articles across the Arts, Humanities, Sciences and Social Sciences disciplines. Content includes top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. Collections 1 – VII included. Subjects covered include: Art and Art History, Business, Economics, Education, Film Studies, History, Music, Performing Arts, Politic Sciences, Psychology, Sociology. The JSTOR homepage defaults to searching all subscribed databases. Search all JSTOR collections subscribed to by the library from the home page or click Browse, then Subject to limit your search to a specific Subject
A multidisciplinary database covering many subjects, including art, education, humanities, law, social sciences and technology. OmniFile also provides topical coverage on ethnic studies, women’s studies and history. In addition to full text, this database provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of publications
Full-text access to journals published by Oxford University Press and covering a diverse range of disciplines such as: Arts, Humanities, Law, Mathematics, Medicine, Physics, Science, Social Sciences and Technical Sciences.
SAGE Research Methods provides material to guide users through every step of the research process.It also features a Methods Map to help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research. Content includes reference works, journal articles, instructional videos, books (including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher) and more.
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. It provides the most comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and Arts & Humanities. The database also features smart tools help you track, analyze and visualize research.
The Social Science Premium Collection provides comprehensive subject coverage across the social sciences. Content includes indexing, and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, dissertations and more. Disclipines covered include: Applied Social Sciences, Sociology, Political Science, Criminal Justice, Education, and Linguistics and Language Behaviour.
SocINDEX with Full Text is often referred to as the world’s most comprehensive database for sociology research. The database offers extensive coverage of the scholarly literature from all sub-disciplines of sociology, including: Criminal Studies, Gender Studies, Ethnic and Racial Studies, Family Studies, Politics, Religion, Rural Sociology, Social Policy, Social Psychology, Social Work, Sociology of Education, Substance Abuse and Urban Studies and many more. SocINDEX contains more than 620 full text journals, more than 600 of which are Peer reviewed and more than 300 have no embargo – so users can access the information as soon as it is published. Access is also provided to full-text, peer-reviewed books and conference papers.
Access to thousands of high-quality peer-reviewed journal articles from the Social Sciences and Humanities (SSH) Library and Medical Library. The SSH library covers content in the following subject areas : Arts & Humanities, Business, Management & Economics, Criminology & Law, Education, Geography, Planning, Urban & Environment, Library & Information Science, Media, Cultural & Communication Studies, Mental Health & Social Care, Politics, International Relations & Area Studies, Psychology, Sociology & Related Disciplines, Sport, Leisure & Tourism and Strategic, Defense & Security Studies. Key subject areas covered by the Medical Library are: Allied & Public Health, Clinical Psychiatry & Neuroscience, General Medicine & Dentistry, Oncology, Obsterics & Gynaecology, Opthalomology, Orthopedics, Endocrinology, Pharmaceutical Science & Toxicology.
Access to full-text journal articles across all key academic research areas. Subjects covered include: business, chemistry, computer science, engineering, law, life sciences, mathematic, physics, psychology and social sciences.
Search for available books in your area in Ebook Central
Ebook CentralThis link opens in a new windowProQuest’s Ebook Central is an award winning, accessible ebook platform for research, teaching and learning. It includes access to Academic Complete, a multi-disciplinary collection of hundreds of thousands of ebooks covering a wide range of subjects.
The library has also bought individual ebooks in a variety of subjects that are available from a search of the library catalogue and are listed here.
Online Books in your area
Bright Futures by American Academy of Pediatrics; Joseph F. Hagan (Editor); Judith S. Shaw (Editor); Paula M. Duncan (Editor)This essential resource provides key background information and recommendations for themes critical to healthy child development along with well-child supervision standards for 31 age-based visits--from Newborn through 21 Years. What''s in the Bright Futures Guidelines, Fourth Edition? Twelve health promotion themes addressing · lifelong health for families and communities NEW · family support · health for children and youth with special health care needs NEW · healthy development · mental health · healthy weight · healthy nutrition · physical activity · oral health · healthy adolescent development · healthy and safe use of social media NEW · safety and injury prevention 31 age-based health supervision visits--Newborn to 21 Years All the information and guidance that''s needed to give children optimal health outcomes -Context -Health Supervision -History -Surveillance of Development -Review of Systems -Observation of Parent-Child Interaction -Physical Examination -Medical Screening -Immunizations -Anticipatory Guidance What''s NEW in the 4th Edition? ·Builds upon previous editions with new and updated content that reflects the latest research. ·Incorporates evidence-driven recommendations. ·Includes three new health promotion themes: -Promoting Lifelong Health for Families and Communities -Promoting Health for Children and Youth With Special Health Care Needs -Promoting the Healthy and Safe Use of Social Media ·Includes new screen time recommendations ·Provides greater focus on lifelong physical and mental health -Weaves social determinants of health throughout the Visits, allowing health care professionals to consider social factors like food insecurity, violence, and drug use that may affect a child''s and family''s health -Features updated Milestones of Development and Developmental Surveillance questions ·Provides new clinical content that informs health care professionals about the latest recommendations and provides guidance on how to implement them in practice: -Maternal depression screening, Safe sleep, Iron supplementation in breast fed infants, Fluoride varnish, Dyslipidemia blood screening ·Includes updates to several Adolescent screenings With Bright Futures, health care professionals can accomplish 4 tasks in 18 minutes! ·Disease detection ·Disease prevention ·Health promotion ·Anticipatory guidance What is Bright Futures? ·A set of theory-based, evidence-driven, and systems-oriented principles, strategies, and tools that health care professionals can use to improve the health and well-being of children through culturally appropriate interventions. Bright Futures addresses the current and emerging health promotion needs of families, clinical practices, communities, health systems, and policymakers. ·The Bright Futures Guidelines are the blueprint for health supervision visits for all children. ·Bright Futures is the health promotion and disease prevention part of the patient-centered medical home. Who can use Bright Futures? ·Child health professionals and practice staff who directly provide primary care ·Parents and youth who participate in well-child visits ·Public Health Professionals ·Policymakers ·Pediatric Educators ·MD Residents
The Disability Studies Reader by Lennard J. Davis (Editor)Disability studies has gone from being a relatively unknown field to one of increasing importance in the social sciences. The sixth edition of The Disability Studies Reader brings in new topics, scholars, writers, artists, and essays to address links between ableism and imperialism; disability bioethics; and the relationship between disability agency, social policy, and decarceration. There are as many meanings and experiences of disability as there are disabled people, and this diversity ensures that the work of the field will continue to evolve. Fully revised and brought up to date, this volume addresses a wider range of geographical and cultural contexts, and many pay specific attention to the intersections between disability and race, gender, and sexuality. The growing interest and activism around the issue of neuroatypicality is also reflected in a new section on neurodivergence. The Disability Studies Reader remains an excellent touchstone for students in disability studies courses across the disciplines, including the social sciences, English literature, and psychology.
Management of ADHD in Children and Young People by Val HarpinThis book is an accessible and practical guide on all aspects of assessment of children and young people with Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) and how they can be managed successfully. The multi-professional team of authors discusses referral, assessment and diagnosis, psychological management, pharmacological management, and co-existing conditions, as well as ADHD in the school setting. New research on girls with ADHD is also featured. Case scenarios are included that bring these topics to life. Neurodisability and community paediatricians, child and adolescent psychiatrists, specialist nurses, psychologists, and education professionals as well as parents and carers will find this an essential resource.
Publication Date: 2017-03-27
People Skills by Neil ThompsonThis popular textbook provides an up-to-date guide to the knowledge and skills required for working successfully with people. The book is divided into three key areas of people skills development. Part 1 highlights the importance of personal effectiveness; Part 2 explores core interaction skills including verbal, nonverbal and written; and Part 3 outlines the skills of intervention. Packed with engaging features, each chapter includes practice focus boxes that help connect theory with real-life practice, and exercises that stimulate and challenge the reader. Whether you're a social worker, nurse, youth worker, a manager or supervisor, or in any role that involves working with people and their problems, this book will help you to develop your skills and improve your effectiveness. New to this Edition: - Self-development exercises and further resources at the end of each chapter to help students consolidate learning