Coming from the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycArticles is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology, containing over 100,000 articles from 59 journals. Coverage runs from 1894 to present.
Emerald Insight contains full-text and peer reviewed articles and abstracts covering a broad range of subjects including: business, marketing, management, human resources, quality, engineering, tourism and hospitality management, health Education & Training and nutrition and food science.
The Health Research Premium Collection from Proquest provides access to the latest medical information essential for medical students and researchers . The collection includes over 4,500 full text health and medical journals, grey literature, instructional videos and more, offering a central access point to a variety of essential medical resources.
Developed in cooperation with Queen's University Belfast, JSTOR's Ireland Collection contains a minimum of 75 journals, over 200 monographs and 2,500 manuscript. The Ireland Collection adds titles and resources across the arts, humanities and sciences in disciplines such as music, art, history, literature, archaeology, mathematics and biology
JSTOR Art and Sciences Collections provide full-text and peer-reviewed articles across the Arts, Humanities, Sciences and Social Sciences disciplines. Content includes top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. Collections 1 – VII included. Subjects covered include: Art and Art History, Business, Economics, Education, Film Studies, History, Music, Performing Arts, Politic Sciences, Psychology, Sociology. The JSTOR homepage defaults to searching all subscribed databases. Search all JSTOR collections subscribed to by the library from the home page or click Browse, then Subject to limit your search to a specific Subject
Full-text access to journals published by Oxford University Press and covering a diverse range of disciplines such as: Arts, Humanities, Law, Mathematics, Medicine, Physics, Science, Social Sciences and Technical Sciences.
SAGE Research Methods provides material to guide users through every step of the research process.It also features a Methods Map to help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research. Content includes reference works, journal articles, instructional videos, books (including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher) and more.
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. It provides the most comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and Arts & Humanities. The database also features smart tools help you track, analyze and visualize research.
The Social Science Premium Collection provides comprehensive subject coverage across the social sciences. Content includes indexing, and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, dissertations and more. Disclipines covered include: Applied Social Sciences, Sociology, Political Science, Criminal Justice, Education, and Linguistics and Language Behaviour.
SocINDEX with Full Text is often referred to as the world’s most comprehensive database for sociology research. The database offers extensive coverage of the scholarly literature from all sub-disciplines of sociology, including: Criminal Studies, Gender Studies, Ethnic and Racial Studies, Family Studies, Politics, Religion, Rural Sociology, Social Policy, Social Psychology, Social Work, Sociology of Education, Substance Abuse and Urban Studies and many more. SocINDEX contains more than 620 full text journals, more than 600 of which are Peer reviewed and more than 300 have no embargo – so users can access the information as soon as it is published. Access is also provided to full-text, peer-reviewed books and conference papers.
Access to thousands of high-quality peer-reviewed journal articles from the Social Sciences and Humanities (SSH) Library and Medical Library. The SSH library covers content in the following subject areas : Arts & Humanities, Business, Management & Economics, Criminology & Law, Education, Geography, Planning, Urban & Environment, Library & Information Science, Media, Cultural & Communication Studies, Mental Health & Social Care, Politics, International Relations & Area Studies, Psychology, Sociology & Related Disciplines, Sport, Leisure & Tourism and Strategic, Defense & Security Studies. Key subject areas covered by the Medical Library are: Allied & Public Health, Clinical Psychiatry & Neuroscience, General Medicine & Dentistry, Oncology, Obsterics & Gynaecology, Opthalomology, Orthopedics, Endocrinology, Pharmaceutical Science & Toxicology.
Access to full-text journal articles across all key academic research areas. Subjects covered include: business, chemistry, computer science, engineering, law, life sciences, mathematic, physics, psychology and social sciences.
Search for available books in your area in Ebook Central
Ebook CentralThis link opens in a new windowProQuest’s Ebook Central is an award winning, accessible ebook platform for research, teaching and learning. It includes access to Academic Complete, a multi-disciplinary collection of hundreds of thousands of ebooks covering a wide range of subjects.
The library has also bought individual ebooks in a variety of subjects that are available from a search of the library catalogue and are listed here.
The Disability Studies Reader by Lennard J. Davis (Editor)Disability studies has gone from being a relatively unknown field to one of increasing importance in the social sciences. The sixth edition of The Disability Studies Reader brings in new topics, scholars, writers, artists, and essays to address links between ableism and imperialism; disability bioethics; and the relationship between disability agency, social policy, and decarceration. There are as many meanings and experiences of disability as there are disabled people, and this diversity ensures that the work of the field will continue to evolve. Fully revised and brought up to date, this volume addresses a wider range of geographical and cultural contexts, and many pay specific attention to the intersections between disability and race, gender, and sexuality. The growing interest and activism around the issue of neuroatypicality is also reflected in a new section on neurodivergence. The Disability Studies Reader remains an excellent touchstone for students in disability studies courses across the disciplines, including the social sciences, English literature, and psychology.
Handbook for Practice Learning in Social Work and Social Care by Joyce Lishman (Editor)This fully updated and expanded third edition of a classic text provides a comprehensive introduction to key theory, knowledge, research and evidence relating to practice learning in social work and social care. It outlines the theories that underpin social care practice, the main assessment models and interventions, and also offers guidance on the effective implementation of assessment across a range of professional contexts. Contributors from research, policy-making and practice backgrounds offer guidance on how to apply policy and research findings in everyday practice while ensuring that the complex needs of each individual service user are met. This third edition also features new chapters on group work, social pedagogy and personalisation. The Handbook for Practice Learning in Social Work and Social Care is an essential resource for ensuring effective evidence-based practice which will be valued by students, educators and practitioners alike.
Call Number: 361.00711
Publication Date: 2015-08-21
Handbook Integrated Care by Volker Amelung (Editor); Viktoria Stein (Editor); Esther Suter (Editor); Nicholas Goodwin (Editor); Ellen Nolte (Editor); Ran Balicer (Editor)This handbook shares profound insights into the main principles and concepts of integrated care. It offers a multi-disciplinary perspective with a focus on patient orientation, efficiency, and quality by applying widely recognized management approaches to the field of healthcare. The handbook also highlights international best practices and shows how integrated care can work in various health systems. In the majority of health systems around the world, the delivery of healthcare and social care is characterised by fragmentation and complexity. Consequently, much of the recent international discussion in the fields of health policy and health management has focused on the topic of integrated care. "Integrated" acknowledges the complexity of patients' needs and aims to meet them by taking into account both health and social care aspects. Changing and improving processes in a coordinated way is at the heart of this approach. The second edition offers new chapters on people-centredness, complexity theories and evaluation methods, additional management tools and a wealth of experiences from different countries and localities. It is essential reading both for health policymakers seeking inspiration for legislation and for practitioners involved in the management of public health services who want to learn from good practice.
Publication Date: 2021
People Skills by Neil ThompsonThis popular textbook provides an up-to-date guide to the knowledge and skills required for working successfully with people. The book is divided into three key areas of people skills development. Part 1 highlights the importance of personal effectiveness; Part 2 explores core interaction skills including verbal, nonverbal and written; and Part 3 outlines the skills of intervention. Packed with engaging features, each chapter includes practice focus boxes that help connect theory with real-life practice, and exercises that stimulate and challenge the reader. Whether you're a social worker, nurse, youth worker, a manager or supervisor, or in any role that involves working with people and their problems, this book will help you to develop your skills and improve your effectiveness. New to this Edition: - Self-development exercises and further resources at the end of each chapter to help students consolidate learning
A Treasure Box for Creating Trauma-Informed Organizations by Karen TreismanThis Treasure Box book is packed full of valuable resources from bestselling and award-winning author, trainer, organizational consultant, and Clinical Psychologist Dr. Karen Treisman, and will show you how to weave a deep understanding of trauma and adversity into the daily practice and the whole fabric of your organization. This expert knowledge is presented in a bright and easy to understand way. Every chapter contains a huge array of colour photocopiable worksheets, downloadable materials, practical ideas, reflective questions, and exercises ready to use both individually and organizationally. Covering guidance on policies, recruitment, supervision, language, cultural humility, co-production, team meeting ideas, staff wellbeing and more, this is the ultimate treasure trove for getting your organization truly and meaningfully trauma-informed. There are also contributors from all over the world within different contexts, from prisons to social care to schools to residential homes and much more, which illustrate how to take the ideas and apply them into real world practice.