Emerald Insight contains full-text and peer reviewed articles and abstracts covering a broad range of subjects including: business, marketing, management, human resources, quality, engineering, tourism and hospitality management, health Education & Training and nutrition and food science.
ScienceDirect provides abstract and full text access to scholarly research in the Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences and Social Sciences and Humanity. Subject coverage is broad and includes topics such as business, management, accounting, finance, economics, early childhood, education and tourism.
SAGE’s online collection of business cases provides educators and students with unlimited access to thousands of trusted cases from around the world. Content includes cases on in-demand subjects such as entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise and more.
SAGE Research Methods provides material to guide users through every step of the research process.It also features a Methods Map to help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research. Content includes reference works, journal articles, instructional videos, books (including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher) and more.
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. It provides the most comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and Arts & Humanities. The database also features smart tools help you track, analyze and visualize research.
Search for available books in your area in Ebook Central
Ebook CentralThis link opens in a new windowProQuest’s Ebook Central is an award winning, accessible ebook platform for research, teaching and learning. It includes access to Academic Complete, a multi-disciplinary collection of hundreds of thousands of ebooks covering a wide range of subjects.
The library has also bought individual ebooks in a variety of subjects that are available from a search of the library catalogue and are listed here.
Armstrong's Handbook of Human Resource Management Practice by Michael Armstrong; Stephen TaylorArmstrong's Handbook of Human Resource Management Practice is the bestselling and definitive resource for HRM students and professionals, which helps readers to understand and implement HR in relation to the needs of the business. It covers in-depth all of the areas essential to the HR function such as employment law, employee relations, learning and development, performance management and reward, as well as the HR skills needed to ensure professional success, including leadership, managing conflict, interviewing and using statistics. Illustrated throughout in full colour and with a range of pedagogical features to consolidate learning (e.g. source review boxes, key learning points, summaries and case studies from international organizations such as IBM, HSBC and Johnson and Johnson), this fully updated 15th edition includes new chapters on the HRM role of line managers, evidence-based HRM, e-HRM and the gender pay gap, further case studies and updated content covering the latest research and developments. Armstrong's Handbook of Human Resource Management Practice is aligned with the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development (CIPD) profession map and standards and is suited to both professionals and students of both undergraduate degrees and the CIPD's level 5 and 7 professional qualifications. Online supporting resources include comprehensive handbooks for lecturers and students, lecture slides, all figures and tables, toolkits, and a literature review, glossary and bibliography.
Publication Date: 2020
Risk Management by Darnell BowersRisk can be defined as the effect of uncertainty on objectives. It can originate from various sources. For example, uncertainty and threats from project failures in any phase (eg: analysis, design, development, testing and production); from failures in corporate business across industries (eg: information technology and software engineering, oil and gas, manufacturing, civil engineering, mechanical engineering, finance including financial markets, etc.). Substantial risk can also be created by accidents, natural causes and disasters, as well as deliberate attacks from an adversary or events of an uncertain or unpredictable cause. In general, risk management is a process of identification, assessment, and prioritisation of risk followed by the coordination of actions and deployment of resources to minimise, monitor, and control the probability and impact of undesired events. The objective of risk management is to ensure that uncertainty does not affect the achievement of business goals. In this book, Chapter One reviews a novel six sigma approach to risk management. Chapter Two aims to provide readers with a tool to identify evaluate and treat quality management system (QMS) risk. Chapter Three elaborates on economic approaches for the evaluation of risk deterioration on health of the population under the influence of negative factors.
Publication Date: 2016
Business Ethics by David M. Wasieleski (Editor); James Weber (Editor)The Business and Society (BAS) 360 book series is an annual publication targeting cutting-edge developments in the broad business and society field, such as stakeholder management, corporate social responsibility and citizenship, business ethics, sustainability, corporate governance and others. Each volume will feature a comprehensive discussion and review of the current 'state' of the research and theoretical developments in a specific business and society area. As business and society is an inherently multi-disciplinary scholarly area, the book series will draw from work in areas outside of business and management, such as psychology, sociology, philosophy, religious studies, economics and other related fields, as well as the natural sciences, education and other professional areas of study. This volume focuses on research drawn from work grounded in 'Business Ethics.' Scholars known in this discipline contribute to a 360-degree evaluation of the theory, including cross-discipline research, empirical explorations, cross-cultural studies, literature critiques and meta-analysis projects. The book should appeal to a wide range of readers; from emerging and senior business school educators researching and teaching in the business and society field, to doctoral and masters level students across the business, social sciences and natural sciences seeking to learn about this multi-discipline and sustained field of management study. Business executives and managers could benefit from reading how the business and society field began, the path it has taken and the new, emerging directions that scholars envision for the field.