Emerald Insight contains full-text and peer reviewed articles and abstracts covering a broad range of subjects including: business, marketing, management, human resources, quality, engineering, tourism and hospitality management, health Education & Training and nutrition and food science.
The IEEE Xplore digital library offers online access to almost 3-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. This resource holds 151 journals, over 900 conference proceedings, more than 3,400 technical standards, over 400 ebooks and 200 educational courses. Please note that around 25,000 new documents are added to IEEE Xplore each month
Offering access to The Occupational Health and Safety Information Service, Environmental Management, Specify-IT, Engineer-IT and The Irish Construction Information Service Plus, IHS is a leading edge supplier of BSi British Standards, Standards, Regulations and Product and Supplier Information
ScienceDirect provides abstract and full text access to scholarly research in the Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences and Social Sciences and Humanity. Subject coverage is broad and includes topics such as business, management, accounting, finance, economics, early childhood, education and tourism.
ISURV is designed to specifically meet the information needs of surveyors, the surveying profession and the surveying industry. It is a one-stop-shop for best practice and the easiest way to access RICS official guidance online. It contains extensive expert practical commentary, legislative guidance, thousands of relevant case summaries and hundreds of ready to use standard letters and forms. Regularly updated, the information is the most current that is available from the RICS and contains the latest editions of all relevant RICS guidance notes. Topics covered include: building defects, building surveying, commercial property, construction, construction contracts, environment, estate agency, legal aspects, planning and valuation.
The i2i Platform provides accurate and up to date full-text access to thousands of current NSAI Irish Standards: straight IS (Irish Standards) EN (European Norms) and ISO (International Organisation for Standardisation). The i2i platform also lists the bibliographic content hundreds of international standards publishers covering over 1.5 million standards, references and equivalencies.
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. It provides the most comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and Arts & Humanities. The database also features smart tools help you track, analyze and visualize research.
Search for available books in your area in Ebook Central
Ebook CentralThis link opens in a new windowProQuest’s Ebook Central is an award winning, accessible ebook platform for research, teaching and learning. It includes access to Academic Complete, a multi-disciplinary collection of hundreds of thousands of ebooks covering a wide range of subjects.
The library has also bought individual ebooks in a variety of subjects that are available from a search of the library catalogue and are listed here.
Online Books in your Area
Hydraulics in Civil and Environmental Engineering by Andrew Chadwick; John Morfett; Martin BorthwickThis classic text, now in its sixth edition, combines a thorough coverage of the basic principles of civil engineering hydraulics with a wide-ranging treatment of practical, real-world applications. It now includes a powerful online resource with worked solutions for chapter problems and solution spreadsheets for more complex problems that may be used as templates for similar issues. Hydraulics in Civil and Environmental Engineering　is structured into two parts to deal with principles and more advanced topics. The first part focuses on fundamentals, such as hydrostatics, hydrodynamics, pipe and open channel flow, wave theory, physical modelling, hydrology and sediment transport. The second part illustrates engineering applications of these principles to pipeline system design, hydraulic structures, river and coastal engineering, including up-to-date environmental implications, as well as a chapter on computational modelling, illustrating the application of computational simulation techniques to modern design, in a variety of contexts. New material and additional problems for solution have been added to the chapters on hydrostatics, pipe flow and dimensional analysis. The hydrology chapter has been revised to reflect updated UK flood estimation methods, data and software. The recommendations regarding the assessment of uncertainty, climate change predictions, impacts and adaptation measures have been updated, as has the guidance on the application of computational simulation techniques to river flood modelling. Andrew Chadwick is an honorary professor of coastal engineering and the former associate director of the Marine Institute at the University of Plymouth, UK. John Morfett was the head of hydraulics research and taught at the University of Brighton, UK. Martin Borthwick is a consultant hydrologist, formerly a flood hydrology advisor at the UK's Environment Agency, and previously an associate professor at the University of Plymouth, UK.
Publication Date: 2021
Manual of Engineering Drawing by Colin Simmons; Dennis Maguire; Neil PhelpsManual of Engineering Drawing: British and International Standards, Fifth Edition, chronicles ISO and British Standards in engineering drawings, providing many examples that will help readers understand how to translate engineering specifications into a visual medium. The book includes 6 introductory chapters which provide foundational theory and contextual information regarding the broader context of engineering drawing and design. The concepts enclosed will help readers gain the most out of their drawing skills. As the standards referred to in this book change every few years, this new edition presents an important update. Covers all of the BSI and ISO standards that govern the drafting of technical product specification and standards Includes new chapters on design for additive manufacturing and computer-aided design Provides worked examples that will help readers understand how the concepts in the book are applied in practice
Publication Date: 2020
Bird's Basic Engineering Mathematics by John BirdNow in its eighth edition, Bird's Basic Engineering Mathematics has helped thousands of students to succeed in their exams. Mathematical theories are explained in a straightforward manner, supported by practical engineering examples and applications to ensure that readers can relate theory to practice. Some 1,000 engineering situations/problems have been 'flagged-up' to help demonstrate that engineering cannot be fully understood without a good knowledge of mathematics. The extensive and thorough coverage makes this a great text for introductory level engineering courses - such as for aeronautical, construction, electrical, electronic, mechanical, manufacturing engineering and vehicle technology - including for BTEC First, National and Diploma syllabuses, City & Guilds Technician Certificate and Diploma syllabuses, and even for GCSE revision. Its companion website provides extra materials for students and lecturers, including full solutions for all 1,700 further questions, lists of essential formulae, multiple choice tests, and illustrations, as well as full solutions to revision tests for course instructors.
Publication Date: 2021
Engineering Surveying by W. Schofield; Mark BreachEngineering surveying involves determining the position of natural and man-made features on or beneath the Earth's surface and utilizing these features in the planning, design and construction of works. It is a critical part of any engineering project. Without an accurate understanding of the size, shape and nature of the site the project risks expensive and time-consuming errors or even catastrophic failure. This fully updated sixth edition of Engineering Surveying covers all the basic principles and practice of the fundamentals such as vertical control, distance, angles and position right through to the most modern technologies. It includes: * An introduction to geodesy to facilitate greater understanding of satellite systems * A fully updated chapter on GPS, GLONASS and GALILEO for satellite positioning in surveying * All new chapter on the important subject of rigorous estimation of control coordinates * Detailed material on mass data methods of photogrammetry and laser scanning and the role of inertial technology in them With many worked examples and illustrations of tools and techniques, it suits students and professionals alike involved in surveying, civil, structural and mining engineering, and related areas such as geography and mapping.