ScienceDirect provides abstract and full text access to scholarly research in the Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences and Social Sciences and Humanity. Subject coverage is broad and includes topics such as business, management, accounting, finance, economics, early childhood, education and tourism.
MEDLINE Complete includes more than 2,200 full-text online journals as well as MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) for more than 5,200 current biomedical journals. Coverage dates back to 1916 and many journals included are available with no embargo, allowing users to access the information as soon as it is published.
SocINDEX with Full Text is often referred to as the world’s most comprehensive database for sociology research. The database offers extensive coverage of the scholarly literature from all sub-disciplines of sociology, including: Criminal Studies, Gender Studies, Ethnic and Racial Studies, Family Studies, Politics, Religion, Rural Sociology, Social Policy, Social Psychology, Social Work, Sociology of Education, Substance Abuse and Urban Studies and many more. SocINDEX contains more than 620 full text journals, more than 600 of which are Peer reviewed and more than 300 have no embargo – so users can access the information as soon as it is published. Access is also provided to full-text, peer-reviewed books and conference papers.
Journal of Adventure Education and Outdoor Learning is the official journal of the UK based Institute for Outdoor Learning. This journal is published by Taylor and Francis and is peer reviewed by an international review board.
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. It provides the most comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and Arts & Humanities. The database also features smart tools help you track, analyze and visualize research.
Search for available books in your area in Ebook Central
Ebook CentralThis link opens in a new windowProQuest’s Ebook Central is an award winning, accessible ebook platform for research, teaching and learning. It includes access to Academic Complete, a multi-disciplinary collection of hundreds of thousands of ebooks covering a wide range of subjects.
The library has also bought individual ebooks in a variety of subjects that are available from a search of the library catalogue and are listed here.
Handbook of Sport Psychology by Gershon Tenenbaum (Editor); Robert C. Eklund (Editor)The fourth edition of a classic, leading resource for the field of sport, exercise, and performance psychology Now expanded to two volumes, and featuring a wealth of new chapters from highly respected scholars in the field, this all-new edition of the Handbook of Sports Psychology draws on an international roster of experts and scholars in the field who have assembled state-of-the-art knowledge into this thorough, well-rounded, and accessible volume. Endorsed by the International Society of Sport Psychology, it represents an invaluable source of theoretical and practical information on our understanding of the role of psychology in sport, exercise, and performance--and how that understanding can be applied in order to improve real-world outcomes. Presented in eight parts, the Handbook of Sports Psychology, 4th Edition adds new material on emerging areas such as mindfulness, brain mapping, self-consciousness, and mental toughness, and covers special topics such as gender and cultural diversity, athletes with disabilities, and alcohol and drug use in sports. In addition, it covers classic topics such as what motivates an athlete to perform; why do some choke under pressure; how do top performers handle leadership roles; what does one do to mentally train; how an athlete deals with injury; and much more. Fourth edition of the most influential reference work for the field of sport psychology New coverage includes mindfulness in sport and exercise psychology, ethics, mental toughness, sport socialization, and making use of brain technologies in practice Endorsed by the International Society of Sport Psychology (ISSP) Handbook of Sports Psychology, 4th Edition is an indispensable resource for any student or professional interested in the field of sports psychology.
Routledge International Handbook of Outdoor Studies by Barbara Humberstone (Editor); Heather Prince (Editor); Karla A. Henderson (Editor)The 'outdoors' is a physical and ideological space in which people engage with their environment, but it is also an important vehicle for learning and for leisure. The Routledge Handbook of Outdoor Studies is the first book to attempt to define and survey the multi-disciplinary set of approaches that constitute the broad field of outdoor studies, including outdoor recreation, outdoor education, adventure education, environmental studies,　physical culture studies　and leisure studies. It reflects upon the often haphazard development of outdoor studies as a discipline, critically assesses current knowledge in outdoor studies, and identifies further opportunities for future　research in this area. With a broader sweep than any other book yet published on the topic, this handbook traces the philosophical and conceptual contours of the discipline, as well as exploring key contemporary topics and debates, and identifying important issues in education and professional practice. It examines the cultural, social and political contexts in which people experience the outdoors, including perspectives on outdoor studies from a wide range of countries, providing the perfect foundation for any student, researcher, educator or outdoors practitioner looking to deepen their professional knowledge of the outdoors and our engagement with the world around us.
Sport and Exercise Nutrition by Adam Collins (Editor); Richard Budgett (Foreword by); Susan A. Lanham-New (Editor); Samantha Stear (Editor); Susan Shirreffs (Editor); Adam Collins (Editor); Richard Budgett (Foreword by); Susan A. Lanham-New (Editor); Samantha Stear (Editor); Susan Shirreffs (Editor)Now widely adopted on courses throughout the world, the prestigious Nutrition Society Textbook series provides students with the scientific basics in nutrition in the context of a systems and disease approach rather than on a nutrient by nutrient basis. In addition books provide a means to enable teachers and students to explore the core principles of nutrition and to apply these throughout their training to foster critical thinking at all times. This NS Textbook on Sport and Exercise Nutrition has been written to cover the latest information on the science and practice of sport and exercise nutrition. A key concept behind this textbook is that it aims to combine the viewpoints of world leading nutrition experts from both academia/research and a practical stand point. Plus where necessary there are additional practitioner based authors to ensure theory is translated into practice for each chapter in the form of either 'practice tips' or 'information sheets' at the end of relevant chapters. The textbook in essence can be divided into three distinct but integrated parts: Part 1: covers the key components of the science that supports the practice of sport and exercise nutrition including comprehensive reviews on: nutrients both in general and as exercise fuels; exercise physiology; hydration, micronutrients; and supplements. Part 2: moves into focusing on specific nutrition strategies to support different types of training including: resistance; power/sprint; middle distance/speed endurance; endurance; technical/skill, team; and specific competition nutrition needs. The unique format of this textbook is that it breaks down nutrition support into training specific as opposed to the traditional sport specific support. This reflects the majority of current sport and exercise requirements of the need to undertake concurrent training and therefore facilitating targeted nutrition support to the different training components through the various macro and micro training cycles. Part 3: explores some of the practical issues encountered in working in the sport and exercise nutrition field and includes key sport related topics such as: disability sport; weight management; eating disorders; bone and gut health; immunity; injury; travel; and special populations and situations. READERSHIP: Students of nutrition and dietetics at both undergraduate and postgraduate level. All those working in the field of nutrition and related health sciences.
Publication Date: 2011
Game Sense by Richard LightGame Sense is an exciting and innovative approach to coaching and physical education that places the game at the heart of the session. It encourages the player to develop skills in a realistic context, to become more tactically aware, to make better decisions and to have more fun. Game Sense is a comprehensive, research-informed introduction to the Game Sense approach that defines and explores key concepts and essential pedagogical theory, and that offers an extensive series of practical examples and plans for using Game Sense in real teaching and coaching situations. The first section of the book helps the reader to understand how learning occurs and how this informs player-centred pedagogy. It also explains the relationship between Game Sense and other approaches to Teaching Games for Understanding. The second section of the book demonstrates how the theory can be applied in practice, providing a detailed, step-by-step guide to using Game Sense in eleven sports, including soccer, basketball, field hockey and softball. No other book explores the Game Sense approach in such depth, or combines theory and innovative practical techniques. Game Sense is invaluable reading for all students of physical education or sports coaching, any in-service physical education teacher or any sports coach working with children or young people.