The IEEE Xplore digital library offers online access to almost 3-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. This resource holds 151 journals, over 900 conference proceedings, more than 3,400 technical standards, over 400 ebooks and 200 educational courses. Please note that around 25,000 new documents are added to IEEE Xplore each month
Developed in cooperation with Queen's University Belfast, JSTOR's Ireland Collection contains a minimum of 75 journals, over 200 monographs and 2,500 manuscript. The Ireland Collection adds titles and resources across the arts, humanities and sciences in disciplines such as music, art, history, literature, archaeology, mathematics and biology
A multidisciplinary database covering many subjects, including art, education, humanities, law, social sciences and technology. OmniFile also provides topical coverage on ethnic studies, women’s studies and history. In addition to full text, this database provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of publications
ScienceDirect provides abstract and full text access to scholarly research in the Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences and Social Sciences and Humanity. Subject coverage is broad and includes topics such as business, management, accounting, finance, economics, early childhood, education and tourism.
Search for available books in your area in Ebook Central
Ebook CentralThis link opens in a new windowProQuest’s Ebook Central is an award winning, accessible ebook platform for research, teaching and learning. It includes access to Academic Complete, a multi-disciplinary collection of hundreds of thousands of ebooks covering a wide range of subjects.
The library has also bought individual ebooks in a variety of subjects that are available from a search of the library catalogue and are listed here.
Online Books in Your Area
The Science of Sound Recording by Jay KadisThe Science of Soundnbsp;Recordingnbsp;will providenbsp;you with more than just an introduction to sound and recording, it will allow you to dive rightnbsp;into some of the technical areas thatnbsp;oftennbsp;appear overwhelming to anyone without an electrical engineering or physics background.nbsp;nbsp; The Sciencenbsp;of Sound Recordingnbsp;helps you build a basic foundation of scientific principles, explaining how recording really works. Packed with valuable must know information,nbsp;illustrations and examples of 'worked through' equationsnbsp;this booknbsp;introduces thenbsp;theory behind sound recording practices in a logical and practical way whilenbsp;placingnbsp;an emphasis on the concepts of measurement as they relate to sound recording, physical principles of mechanics and acoustics, biophysics of hearing, introduction to electronics, analog and digital recording theory and how science determines mixing techniques.
Publication Date: 2012
Sound System Engineering 4e by Don Davis; Eugene Patronis; Pat BrownLong considered the only book an audio engineer needs on their shelf, Sound System Engineering provides an accurate, complete and concise tool for all those involved in sound system engineering. Fully updated on the design, implementation and testing of sound reinforcement systems this great reference is a necessary addition to any audio engineering library. Packed with revised material, numerous illustrations and useful appendices, this is a concentrated capsule of knowledge and industry standard that runs the complete range of sound system design from the simplest all-analog paging systems to the largest multipurpose digital systems.
Publication Date: 2013
Real-Time Digital Signal Processing by Sen M. Kuo; Bob H. Lee; Wenshun TianCombines both the DSP principles and real-time implementations and applications, and now updated with the new eZdsp USB Stick, which is very low cost, portable and widely employed at many DSP labs. Real-Time Digital Signal Processing introduces fundamental digital signal processing (DSP) principles and will be updated to include the latest DSP applications, introduce new software development tools and adjust the software design process to reflect the latest advances in the field. In the 3rd edition of the book, the key aspect of hands-on experiments will be enhanced to make the DSP principles more interesting and directly interact with the real-world applications. All of the programs will be carefully updated using the most recent version of software development tools and the new TMS320VC5505 eZdsp USB Stick for real-time experiments. Due to its lower cost and portability, the new software and hardware tools are now widely used in university labs and in commercial industrial companies to replace the older and more expensive generation. The new edition will have a renewed focus on real-time applications and will offer step-by-step hands-on experiments for a complete design cycle starting from floating-point C language program to fixed-point C implementation, code optimization using INTRINSICS, and mixed C-and-assembly programming on fixed-point DSP processors. This new methodology enables readers to concentrate on learning DSP fundamentals and innovative applications by relaxing the intensive programming efforts, namely, the traditional DSP assembly coding efforts. The book is organized into two parts; Part One introduces the digital signal processing principles and theories, and Part Two focuses on practical applications. The topics for the applications are the extensions of the theories in Part One with an emphasis placed on the hands-on experiments, systematic design and implementation approaches. The applications provided in the book are carefully chosen to reflect current advances of DSP that are of most relevance for the intended readership. Combines both the DSP principles and real-time implementations and applications using the new eZdsp USB Stick, which is very low cost, portable and widely employed at many DSP labs is now used in the new edition Places renewed emphasis on C-code experiments and reduces the exercises using assembly coding; effective use of C programming, fixed-point C code and INTRINSICS will become the main focus of the new edition. Updates to application areas to reflect latest advances such as speech coding techniques used for next generation networks (NGN), audio coding with surrounding sound, wideband speech codec (ITU G.722.2 Standard), fingerprint for image processing, and biomedical signal processing examples. Contains new addition of several projects that can be used as semester projects; as well as new many new real-time experiments using TI's binary libraries - the experiments are prepared with flexible interface and modular for readers to adapt and modify to create other useful applications from the provided basic programs. Consists of more MATLAB experiments, such as filter design, algorithm evaluation, proto-typing for C-code architecture, and simulations to aid readers to learn DSP fundamentals. Includes supplementary material of program and data files for examples, applications, and experiments hosted on a companion website. A valuable resource for Postgraduate students enrolled on DSP courses focused on DSP implementation & applications as well as Senior undergraduates studying DSP; engineers and programmers who need to learn and use DSP principles and development tools for their projects.
Production Management for TV and Film by Linda Stradling"What Linda Stradling doesn't know about production management isn't worth knowing" The Documentary Filmmakers GroupPlaying a key role in helping producers to interpret and realise the directors' vision, production managers are responsible for all organisational aspects of TV and film production - from start to finish. Now this essential handbook tells you how it's done. Written by highly experienced production manager and specialist tutor, Linda Stradling, this is a complete guide to the profession. It includes details on self-organisation and the best systems to use, budgets, schedules and cost control, hiring and firing, contracts, insurance, setting up a shoot, dealing with contributors, acquiring copyright, people skills and ethics. So whether you're just starting out or want to improve your knowledge and skills, this is the book for you.