Offers scholarly, government and general interest titles on all aspects of human impact to the environment, including global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more. GreenFile provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as open access full-text for more than 4,700 records
The IEEE Xplore digital library offers online access to almost 3-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. This resource holds 151 journals, over 900 conference proceedings, more than 3,400 technical standards, over 400 ebooks and 200 educational courses. Please note that around 25,000 new documents are added to IEEE Xplore each month
Developed in cooperation with Queen's University Belfast, JSTOR's Ireland Collection contains a minimum of 75 journals, over 200 monographs and 2,500 manuscript. The Ireland Collection adds titles and resources across the arts, humanities and sciences in disciplines such as music, art, history, literature, archaeology, mathematics and biology
ScienceDirect provides abstract and full text access to scholarly research in the Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences and Social Sciences and Humanity. Subject coverage is broad and includes topics such as business, management, accounting, finance, economics, early childhood, education and tourism.
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. It provides the most comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and Arts & Humanities. The database also features smart tools help you track, analyze and visualize research.
Search for available books in your area in Ebook Central
Ebook CentralThis link opens in a new windowProQuest’s Ebook Central is an award winning, accessible ebook platform for research, teaching and learning. It includes access to Academic Complete, a multi-disciplinary collection of hundreds of thousands of ebooks covering a wide range of subjects.
The library has also bought individual ebooks in a variety of subjects that are available from a search of the library catalogue and are listed here.
Handbook on Animal-Assisted Therapy by Aubrey H. Fine (Editor)Handbook on Animal-Assisted Therapy: Foundations and Guidelines for Animal-Assisted Interventions, Fifth Edition highlights advances in the field, with seven new chapters and revisions to over 75% of the material. This book will help therapists discover the benefits of incorporating animal assisted therapy into their practice, how to design and implement animal assisted interventions, and the efficacy of animal assisted therapy with different disorders and patient populations. Coverage includes the use of AAT with children, families and the elderly, in counseling and psychotherapy settings, and for treating a variety of specific disorders. Contains seven new chapters in addition to 75% new or revised material Includes guidelines and best practices for using animals as therapeutic companions Addresses specific types of patients and environmental situations Includes AAI working with cats, dogs, birds, and horses Discusses why animals are used in therapy, as well as how
Publication Date: 2019
Bovine Reproduction by Richard M. Hopper (Editor)Bovine Reproduction A complete resource for practical, authoritative information on all aspects of bovine theriogenology The newly revised Second Edition of Bovine Reproduction delivers a comprehensive overview of all major issues in bovine reproduction. Written by leading experts in the subject, the book is an indispensable reference for any veterinarian dealing with bovine fertility. Bovine Reproduction is divided into sections on the bull, the cow, the neonate, and assisted reproduction techniques. New chapters cover new gene manipulation technologies, managing problem donors, lameness, and more. Outdated and redundant information from the First Edition has been removed and replaced by coverage of new diseases, technologies, procedures, techniques, and approaches to fertility problems. A new companion website provides images and tables from the book in PowerPoint format. In addition to more than 675 full-color images, readers will also benefit from: A thorough discussion of the anatomy and physiology of the bull, including the endocrine and exocrine function of bovine testes and the thermoregulation of the testes An exploration of breeding and health management of bulls, including the evaluation of breeding soundness and ultrasound examination of the reproductive tract An examination of the anatomy, physiology, and the breeding and health management of cows, including fetal programming, the reproductive tract microbiome, and a section on obstetrics and reproductive surgery A review of the management of both critical care of the neonate and effective colostrum assessment and provision An introduction to assisted and advanced reproductive technologies A practical and comprehensive reference, Bovine Reproduction is a must-have purchase for bovine practitioners, theriogenologists, animal scientists, veterinary students, and residents with an interest in cattle.
Publication Date: 2021
Clinical Veterinary Microbiology by Bryan Markey; Finola Leonard; Marie Archambault; Ann Cullinane; Dores MaguireThis beautifully illustrated, comprehensive reference provides concise information on the materials and methods of bacteriology, mycology, and virology. The book covers the collection, isolation, and culture of diagnostic specimens, with detailed notes on the biochemical, serological and other tests currently used to identify and distinguish between microbial pathogens. The new edition sets out to provide the most up-to-date account of all the clinically and economically important pathogens, including Bovine Spongiform Encephalomyeltis, Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease, E-coli, and Salmonella. The clear, accessible format, together with the complete revision of the content, makes this a valuable resource. High quality full colour photography - Essential for accurate diagnosis Fully revised pathogenicity sections taking into account the major discoveries/incidences of the last 3-5 years Reclassification of viruses, including changes to nomenclature Appendices of Infectious Diseases - Fast access to vital information Unique and practical inclusion of virology, bacteriology and mycology in one text Greatly expanded chapter on viruses More on PRIONS (including BSE) Reclassification of viruses - many changes to nomenclature Fully revised pathogenicity sections Revised/complete coverage of E coli 0157 Revised Systems section Complete update of Infectious Diseases coverage in the appendices
Publication Date: 2013
Principles of Veterinary Parasitology by Dennis Jacobs; Mark Fox; Lynda Gibbons; Carlos HermosillaPrinciples of Veterinary Parasitology is a student-friendly introduction to veterinary parasitology. Written primarily to meet the immediate needs of veterinary students, this textbook outlines the essential parasitological knowledge needed to underpin clinical practice. Conceptual relationships between parasitic organisms, their biology and the diseases they cause are clearly illustrated. Help boxes and practical tips are included throughout alongside a wealth of colour photographs, drawings and life-cycle diagrams. Organised taxonomically with additional host-orientated chapters and focussing on parasites that commonly cause animal or zoonotic disease, welfare problems or economic losses, students worldwide will benefit from this straightforward and easy to comprehend introduction to veterinary parasitology. Key features include: An easy to navigate textbook, providing information essential for clinical studies Full colour throughout, with photographs, diagrams, life-cycles and help boxes for visual learners A companion website including a pronunciation guide, self-assessment questions and further reading lists
Publication Date: 2015
Veterinary Hematology and Clinical Chemistry by Mary Anna Thrall (Editor); Glade Weiser (Editor); Robin Allison (Editor); Terry Campbell (Editor)Veterinary Hematology and Clinical Chemistry, Second Edition is a well-illustrated, user-friendly reference on veterinary laboratory diagnostic techniques and interpretation. Covering both hematology and chemistry for a wide range of species, including birds, reptiles, amphibians, and fish, the book provides an overview of these critical veterinary skills. This Second Edition includes many revisions and additions, including new chapters on molecular diagnostics of hematologic malignancies and lipid pathology, updates to reflect advances in diagnostic instrumentation and capabilities, significant revisions to the data interpretation chapter to provide introductory guidance, and current information on immunodiagnostics and laboratory diagnostics of renal, endocrine, and calcium metabolic pathologies. Beginning with the basic principles of laboratory testing and diagnosis, the book moves into in-depth information on hematology and chemistry of common domestic and non-domestic species. Clinical case presentations, supplying case data and offering narrative discussions to promote skills, have been expanded and incorporated into the body of the book. Packed with useful information for veterinary students, technicians, pathologists, and researchers, Veterinary Hematology and Clinical Chemistry is an essential addition to any veterinary library.
Publication Date: 2012
Veterinary Microbiology and Microbial Disease by P. J. Quinn; E. S. Fitzpatrick; B. K. Markey; F. C. Leonard; P. Hartigan; S. FanningMicrobiology is one of the core subjects for veterinary students, and since its first publication in 2002, Veterinary Microbiology and Microbial Disease has become an essential text for students of veterinary medicine. Fully revised and expanded, this new edition updates the subject for pre-clinical and clinical veterinary students in a comprehensive manner. Individual sections deal with bacteriology, mycology and virology. Written by an academic team with many years of teaching experience, the book provides concise descriptions of groups of microorganisms and the diseases which they cause. Microbial pathogens are discussed in separate chapters which provide information on the more important features of each microorganism and its role in the pathogenesis of diseases of animals. The international and public health significance of these pathogens are reviewed comprehensively. The final section is concerned with the host and is organized according to the body system affected. Tables, boxes and flow diagrams provide information in an easily assimilated format. This edition contains new chapters on molecular diagnostics and on infectious conditions of the skin, cardiovascular system, urinary tract and musculoskeletal system. Many new colour diagrams are incorporated into this edition and each chapter has been updated. Key features of this edition: Twelve new chapters included Numerous new illustrations Each chapter has been updated Completely re-designed in full colour Fulfils the needs of veterinary students and academics in veterinary microbiology Companion website with figures from the book as Powerpoints for viewing or downloading by chapter: www.wiley.com/go/quinn/veterinarymicrobiology Veterinary Microbiology and Microbial Disease remains indispensable for all those studying and teaching this essential component of the veterinary curriculum.