Concept Analysis
What is concept analysis?
Concept analysis can be defined as a systematic process of examining the attributes, antecedents, consequences, and relationships of a specific concept to provide a clear and detailed understanding of its meaning and implications for practice, theory, and research (Rodgers, 2000).
Concept analysis can be defined as an approach to clarify the meanings of terms in use so that writers and readers share an understanding of terms in the context in which those terms are used (Walker & Avant 2005).
What is the purpose of a concept analysis?
Concept analysis methodology
There are a number of concept analysis methodologies described in the nursing literature. Wilson (1963) is coined as the guru of concept analysis methodology by describing it as an important step in gaining scientific and conceptual clarity to guiding research. Other methodologies include Chinn and Kramer (1995), Morse (1995), Rodgers (1989), Schwartz-Barcott and Kim (2000) and Walker and Avant (2005). According to Fitzpatrick and McCarthy (2016) the Walker and Avant (2005) method of concept analysis is the most frequently used method in nursing.
How to identify all the uses of the concept
- Collins Online Dictionary Online Dictionary
- Merriam Webster Online Dictionary Online Dictionary
Dictionary of Nursing Theory and Research by
It includes updates and new references for entries from the previous edition, and information related to developing areas of research and practice. New content that reflects nursing priorities in research and theory development in the current interprofessional health care environment is featured. This book remains an invaluable reference for nursing students, researchers, theoreticians, and scholars.
Call Number: Online & 610.7303 POWISBN: 9780826106650Publication Date: 2010
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781719644822Publication Date: 2021
Nurse's Dictionary by
Now in its 25th edition, the popular and established Baillière's Nurse's Dictionary has been extensively revised and includes new entries to address the changing world of nursing and healthcare services. This edition is firmly focused on the needs of nurses and healthcare practitioners. Packed with useful information, it provides the essential pocket reference resource for everyone involved in nursing and healthcare. NEW! Online Spellchecker - download to your PC for correct spelling of medical terms in papers and dissertations. Word of the day - Learn a new term daily Convenient, portable size Expanded appendices, and with new terms in many subject areas, including: Sports medicine Health advice Nutrition Nurse prescribing Complementary therapies Management/administration Research Emergency and trauma care Clinical governance. Online resources consisting of: Spellchecker - download to your PC for correct spelling of medical terms in papers and dissertations Word of the day - learn a new term daily Useful weblinks.
Call Number: 610.7303 BAIISBN: 9780702032332Publication Date: 2009
Oxford College Thesaurus by
The Oxford College Thesaurus is geared particularly towards people who are studying, who want a comprehensive thesaurus, but also value practicality, portability, and a mid-range price point. It has more alternative words - 300,000 - than its competitors, along with a range of other benefits. It provides more help on how to use the different words through practical example phrases, quicker access to the likely options, with the alternatives most closely linked to the meaning of the headword listed first, and an excellent in-text cross-referencing system to take you to other useful entries.
Call Number: 423.1 KIRISBN: 0198603487Publication Date: 2000
- thesaurus.com An online thesaurus
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research by
Named an Outstanding Academic Title for 2007 by Choice Winner of an AJN Book of the Year Award The Encyclopedia of Nursing Research, now thoroughly updated in a second edition, presents key terms and concepts in nursing research and with over 30% of the entries new to this edition. Written by the world's leading authorities in nursing research, this comprehensive reference is a "one-stop" resource for everything you need to know about nursing research and its utilization. The 320 articles by 200 expert contributors include topics such as: Nursing services Electronic networks and technology Nursing education Nursing care Specialties in nursing Patients' reactions and adjustments Historical, philosophical, and cultural issues Nursing organizations and publications New entries include: Boykin and Schoenhofer Cancer Survivorship Depression in Cardiac Disease Disparities in Minority Mental Health Endotrachial Suctioning Formal Nursing Languages Henderson's Model HIV Risk Behavior Middle Range Theories Newman's Theory of Health Peplau's Theoretical Model Rogers Science of Unitary Persons Taxonomy Watson's Theory of Human Caring And more Extensive cross references help readers find information easily. Nursing researchers and graduate students in nursing will be the primary audience for this volume. As with the first edition, nurses in all phases of education, from basic to doctoral, from formal university and college-based programs to continuing education offerings, within all health systems, will find this an important introduction to current nursing research topics.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780826198129Publication Date: 2006
Encyclopedia of Epidemiology by
The Encyclopedia of Epidemiology presents state-of-the-art information from the field of epidemiology in a less technical and accessible style and format. With more than 600 entries, no single reference provides as comprehensive a resource in as focused and appropriate manner. The entries cover every major facet of epidemiology, from risk ratios to case-control studies to mediating and moderating variables, and much more. Relevant topics from related fields such as biostatistics and health economics are also included.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781412953948Publication Date: 2008
How to search for articles on the concept
Searching for articles for your concept analysis can be daunting. Here are some tips to help you.
We recommend connecting the term for your concept with any of these search terms using the Boolean operator AND. Also, truncate words using the * symbol to search for variant word endings. Here are some helpful search strategies to try:
- anxiety AND "concept analysis"
- anxiety AND philosoph*
- anxiety AND theor*
- anxiety AND defin*
- anxiety AND concept*
Below, we have combined our search using the AND and the truncation operator (*) .
For more information on focusing your search see Defining Your Search Terms
Why not try yourself by searching on one of the below databases
- Cinahl Ultimate This link opens in a new window The world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 560 journals indexed in CINAHL
- Health Research Premium Collection This link opens in a new window The Health Research Premium Collection from Proquest provides access to the latest medical information essential for medical students and researchers . The collection includes over 4,500 full text health and medical journals, grey literature, instructional videos and more, offering a central access point to a variety of essential medical resources.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Additional Resources for Concept Analysis
Nursing concept analysis : applications to research and practice by Call Number: Online & 610.73072 NURISBN: 9780826126825Publication Date: 2016
Strategies for theory construction in nursing by Call Number: Online & 616.92 WALISBN: 9781292027760Publication Date: 2014
Other Resources linked to Nursing Theory
Theories Guiding Nursing Research and Practice by
This book has its origins in courses taught by the editors and their collaborators for doctoral students. It therefore addresses the need to focus on how theories can be applied in the real world of clinical practice and the research based on it. Introductory and concluding sections make the case for the importance of theoretical frameworks when developing practice and research settings.
Call Number: Online & 610.73072 THEISBN: 9780826164049Publication Date: 2014
Fundamentals of Nursing Models, Theories and Practice by
A concise, accessible introduction to the development, application and evaluation of nursing theories, this new edition of Fundamentals of Nursing Models, Theories & Practice provides a thorough overview of the body of knowledge on the topic, and a clear outline of their relevance to everyday nursing practice. Linking the development of theory to practice, this full-updated text features learning outcomes, key concept summaries and reflective exercises to aid the study of this key element of all modern nursing courses. Special Features Clearly examines the relationship between nursing theory, clinical practice and nursing roles Accessible and user-friendly with a range of features to help study, including key concepts, learning objectives and reflective exercises Useful for all pre-registration nursing students, as well as newly qualified nurses Accompanied by an online resource centre featuring case studies, multiple choice questions, exercises and activities
Call Number: Online & 610.7301 MCKISBN: 9781118492116Publication Date: 2014
Middle Range Theory for Nursing by
The fourth edition of this invaluable publication on middle range theory in nursing reflects the most current theoretical advances in the field. With five additional chapters, new content incorporates exemplars that bridge middle range theory to advanced nursing practice.
Call Number: Online & 610.7301 MIDISBN: 9780826159915Publication Date: 2018
Conceptual Models of Nursing by
Conceptual Models of Nursing will be particularly appealing to students, faculty, and nurse administrators who are interested in expanding their worldview about the current state of nursing theory from a global perspective.
Call Number: 610.73 FITISBN: 9780133805758Publication Date: 2015
Middle Range Theories: application to nursing research and practice by
The most complete and detailed book devoted to middle range theories, Middle Range Theories: Application to Nursing Research and Practice examines theories and their applications in clinical nursing research and practice. In this fourth edition, the authors address this dynamic relationship with increased emphasis on applications of middle range theories to practice.
Call Number: 610.7301 MIDISBN: 9780060000448Publication Date: 2016
Website: Nursing Theory
Website: Nursing Theories
Journal: Nursing Science Quarterly
Journal: International Journal of Nursing Sciences
Schiller, C. J. (2018). Teaching concept analysis to graduate nursing students. Nursing Forum, 53(2), 248–254.
References
Fitzpatrick, J. and McCarthy, G., (2016) Nursing Concept Analysis: Applications to research and practice. Springer Publication.
Hellman A. (2024) The Concept Analysis: An Effective and Important Starting Point in Nursing Research Journal of Radiology Nursing Pages 11-14
Rodgers, B. L. (2000). Concept analysis: An evolutionary view. In B. L. Rodgers & K. A. Knafl (Eds.), Concept development in nursing: Foundations, techniques, and applications (pp. 77-102). W.B. Saunders.
Walker K and Avant K (2014) Strategies for Theory Construction in Nursing Chapter 10
Wilson, J. (1963). Thinking with concepts. Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press.