Guide to using Multisearch
Your Results List
When you perform a search in [database], the database returns a list of results that match your search terms.
1. Multisearch searched for ("electronic health records" OR EHR) AND privacy.
2. The search returned 7610 results.
3. Results are displayed in order of relevance. Click the arrow to the right of Relevance to sort them by date, author or title instead.
4. Use the filters under Refine your search to narrow down your results.
| Filter | What it does |
|---|---|
| Full Text Online | Limits your results to items (including ebooks) where the full text is available to read online/download. |
| Peer-reviewed | Limits your results to items that have been checked by experts for quality and accuracy. |
| Scholarly & Peer-Reviewed | Limits your results to items in academic or peer-reviewed publications. |
| eBook Full Text Online | Limits your results to ebooks where the full text is available to read online/download. |
| Library Catalog | Limits your results to items shelved in the library as well as ebooks purchased by the library. |
| Physical Books in Library Catalog | Limits your results to physical books in the library. If the library also owns an electronic copy of the book, the link for this will also be displayed. |
| Open Access | Limits your results to freely available content you can access without logging in. |
| Add results beyond your library's collection | Widens your results to include items the library does not provide access to. |
About ebooks
Purchased eBooks are owned by the library forever, while subscribed eBooks are only available as long as the library keeps the subscription. Most ebooks you will find in Summon are subscribed to by the library or are freely available.
5. Scroll down the left of the page to see more ways to narrow down your results. Available options are:
- Content type
- Publication date
- Discipline
- Subject Terms
- Library Location (use with the Refine your search filters for the library catalogue only)
- Language
Looking at individual items in your search results, you will see the following information:
1. Item titles are displayed in big, blue text. Click on a title link to view the item in the provider's database.
2. The type of content is displayed in bold.
3. Depending on the result, you may see more information about the content and source types displayed to the right of the result.
4. Click on the Quick Look button to see more information about the result including an abstract (which you can quickly skim to see if the article is useful), the subjects covered and depending on the result, author supplied keywords - useful for new searches.
5. Author information is shown below the item's title. Click on an author name link to see more items by that author.
6. You will see a Full Text Online button if the full text of the item is available. Click on the button to go to the item on the provider's site, where you can read or download it. Note: if you haven't already logged in to your MTU account, you will be asked to do so now.
7. Click on the Cited by button to see other works referencing this result or the Cites button to see other works referenced by this result.
9. Click on the Bibliometrics icon to see statistical information measuring the research impact and popularity of the item.
10. On the top right of the result, you will a Tools menu with the following icons:
- Bookmark - lets you temporarily save the result for this session. Click on the book icon in the top right corner of the screen to see the items you have bookmarked.
- Permalink - get a permanent link to the search result in Multisearch. To get a permalink to the full text of an item, click on the title link to go to the provider's site and get a permalink there.
- Citation - click on the icon and choose a referencing style from the drop-down menu, then print or export the citation.
- Email - enter your email address, choose a referencing style from the drop down menu, add a message (optional), complete the captcha and click Send.
- Click the three dots icon to see options for exporting the result to a bibliographic reference management tool such as RefWorks or Zotero.