MA Regenerative Tourism Research Online resources and eBooks: ENVR91001 - Regenerative Tourism and Circular Economy eBooks
EBooks
Books are available in 1 user, 3 user, unlimited format and 325 views. For books that are 1 user and 3 user, they are available to view on screen and chapters can be downloaded and printed within set limits which are outlined on each title.
The Business of Sustainable Tourism Development and Management by
The Business of Sustainable Tourism Development and Managementprovides a comprehensive introduction to sustainable tourism, crucially combining both theoretical and practical approaches to equip students with the tools to successfully manage a sustainable tourism business or destination. Covering a range of crucial topics such as mass tourism, alternative tourism, human capital management, and many more, this book incorporates a global curriculum that widens the sustainable tourism debate to include theoretical perspectives, applied research, best-practice frameworks, business tools, and case studies, facilitating a more comprehensive sustainable tourism educational strategy. Information on how to effectively implement strategies that can be applied to business environments, entrepreneurship, and job skills to enhance career preparation is at the forefront of this textbook. Highly illustrated and with an interactive companion website including bonus learning materials, this is the ideal textbook for students of tourism, hospitality, and events management at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels.
Call Number: Unlimited accessISBN: 9781138492165Publication Date: 2020-05-05
Cultural Tourism Research Methods by
Reprinted in paperback. The consumption of culture is one of the most important aspects of tourism activity. Cultural tourism includes experiencing local culture, traditions and lifestyle, participation in arts-related activities, and visits to museums, monuments and heritage sites. This book reviews a wide range of qualitative and quantitative research methods applied to the field of cultural tourism, including surveys, mystery tourist visits, visitor tracking, grand tour narratives, collages, researcher-created video, photo-based interviews, ethnographic and actor-network approaches. It provides a practical guide on how to conduct research as well as a discussion and evaluation of the methods.
Call Number: Unlimited access 2010 editionISBN: 9781780642291Publication Date: 2013-01-09
International Cases in Sustainable Travel and Tourism by
Case studies are an indispensable learning tool, not only in the classroom but also in academic research, consultancy and practical business management contexts. Case studies present real situations, allowing a balance of theory and practice. They have the power to transform the learning the abstract and uninspiring to one that is targeted and vibrant.International Cases in Sustainable Travel & Tourism provides an international range of outstanding new cases focused on sustainable tourism management and development, including award winners and finalists from the WTTC Tourism for Tourism Awards they are written by local scholars who are experts in sustainable tourism. They all have a range of features ensuring their quality and applicability:* Based on a joint initiative of the World Travel and Tourism Council (WTTC) and the BEST Education Network (BEST EN), organisations that are at the the forefront of both sustainable tourism practice and teaching;* Each case is rigorously and carefully structured for maximum teaching and learning impact- this includes a clear synopsis, appropriate theoretical frameworks, and a clear summary and future outlook;* Every case is fully supported by features to increase deep understanding of the principles and practice it contains- clear learning outcomes, full references and directed reading and challenging study questions;* In addition to each case the authors provide educators and trainers with detailed background teaching notes, indicative answers, a recommended teaching approach and teaching slides in PowerPoint;* All the cases are also available online for individual purchase at www.goodfellowpublishers.com and for library and site purchase through all major online suppliersThe book, and the individual cases will be an essential teaching and learning resource for both undergraduate and graduate students in Tourism. It will also be of interest to academic researchers and planners, managers and developers of tourist destinations. It will be ideal for the increasing number of sustainability subjects in tourism degrees worldwide.
Call Number: Non Linear 325ISBN: 9781908999405Publication Date: 2013-05-31
Neolocalism and Tourism by
Neolocalism and Tourism: Understanding a Global Movement is the first comprehensive analysis of neolocalism in the tourism context and provides a forum to discuss the latest developments, trends, and research involving tourism and neolocalism, as well as exploring new areas for consideration. Synergies between neolocalism and tourism can contribute to a greater understanding of the complexities of sustainability through increases in community involvement, which enhances local pride and local sourcing. The role of local production, distribution, and consumption can link people to landscapes and contribute to a deeper understanding of sense of place, which in turns garners support for local enterprises and local causes. This edited collection: * Outlines the theory of neolocalism and features neolocalism in relation to tourism; * Brings a new level of scrutiny to the stand-alone concept of "neolocal" as a rising phenomenon in sustainable tourism development and tourism product development studies; * Highlights the versatility and innovating applications of neolocalism within the wider tourism debate; and * Contains international contributions and examples (both applied and conceptual) from global experts.
Call Number: Unlimited accessISBN: 9781911635611Publication Date: 2020-09-01
Products That Last by
Products that Last starts where most books on product development end. This new edition (first self-published by the TU Delft in 2014) contains new examples and insights from recent publications. From the perspective of designers and entrepreneurs, once a product has been designed, produced and sold, it disappears beyond the newness horizon. They are little aware of the opportunities that exist in the next product universe, where money is made from products in use, as well as from a product's afterlife. These opportunities clearly exist, otherwise they would not be providing an income for so many people. However, to be recognized as segments of a circle of continuous value creation, they need reframing. The book offers readers an innovative and practical methodology to unravel a product's afterlife and systematically evaluate it for new opportunities. It introduces business models that enable us to benefit from the opportunities offered by a much longer product life. Products that Last changes the way designers and entrepreneurs develop and exploit goods, helping reduce material and energy consumption over time. Nothing more, nothing less.
Call Number: 3 user licenceISBN: 9789063696023Publication Date: 2019-10-15
Regenerative Development and Design by
The evolution of sustainability, with a practical framework for integration Regenerative Development and Design takes sustainability to the next level, and provides a framework for incorporating regenerative design principles into your current process. The Regenesis Group is a coalition of experienced design, land-use, planning, business, and development professionals who represent the forefront of the movement; in this book, they explain what regenerative development is, how and why it works, and how you can incorporate the fundamental principles into your practice. A clear, focused framework shows you how to merge regenerative concepts with your existing work, backed by numerous examples that guide practical application while illustrating regenerative design and development in action. As the most comprehensive and systemic approach to regenerative development, this book is a must-have resource for architects, planners, and designers seeking the next step in sustainability. Regenerative design and development positions humans as co-creative and mutually-evolving participants in an ecosystem--not just a built environment. This book describes how to bring that focus to your design from the earliest stages. Understand the fundamentals of regenerative design and development Learn how regenerative development contributes to sustainability Integrate regenerative development concepts into practice Examine sample designs that embody the regenerative concept To create a design with true sustainability, considerations must extend far beyond siting, materials, and efficiency. Designers must look at the place, it's inhabitants, and the purpose--the whole living ecosystem--and proceed with their work from that more humbling perspective. The finished product should itself be an ecosystem and sustainable economy, which is the root of the regenerative development approach. Sustainability has evolved, and the designer's responsibility has increased in kind. Regenerative Development and Design provides an authoritative resource for those ready to take the next step forward.
Call Number: Unlimited accessISBN: 9781118972861Publication Date: 2016-08-02
Sustainable Business by
Sustainable Business: Key Issues is the first comprehensive introductory-level textbook to address the interface between environmental challenges and business solutions to provide an overview of the basic concepts of sustainability, sustainable business, and business ethics.
Call Number: Unlimited accessISBN: 9781032209685Publication Date: 2023-05-01
Waste to Wealth by
Waste to Wealth proves that 'green' and 'growth' need not be binary alternatives. The book examines five new business models that provide circular growth from deploying sustainable resources to the sharing economy before setting out what business leaders need to do to implement the models successfully.
Call Number: Unlimited accessISBN: 9781137530685Publication Date: 2016-04-30
