MA Regenerative Tourism Research Online resources and eBooks: Online Resources
Search
Search the library's print and online resources to find books, ebooks, articles, recordings and more.
Here is a short guide to help you get started: Multisearch: A Quick Overview
The library catalogue lists physical items and ebooks purchased by the library.
Use Multisearch to search the library catalogue and online collections at the same time.
Google Scholar can be a useful search tool when starting your research, but it should not be the only tool you use. However, while you know you can rely on MTU library resources, it is up to you to make sure content you find on Google Scholar is safe to use for your assignments and research.
Did you know you can link Google Scholar to MTU Kerry library so it always tells you when the full text of an article is available in the library?
Here is our Link MTU Kerry Library to Google Scholar guide.
Use the A-Z of Online Journals to find a specific journal or journals on a specific subject.
Searching the library's online resources is a bit different to searching Google. Here are some tips to get you started:
- List keywords for each of the main concepts or ideas in your research question
- What is the impact of global warming on Adelie penguins on the Antartic continent
- Enter keywords not sentences into the search box
- Join keywords using AND
- global warming AND penguins
- Use OR between words with similar meanings and put OR'd words in brackets
- Adelie penguins AND (global warming OR climate change)
- Use quotation marks to look for phrases
- Adelie penguings AND "global warming"
- Try searching with different combinations of keywords and see what works best.
- Use your search results to find new keywords
Things to think about when making your list of keywords
- Synonyms (words that mean the same thing)
- drug abuse, drug addction or substance abuse
- Acronyms (abbreviations)
- GP or General Practitioner, HSE or Health and Safety Executive
- Specialist language
- narcotics vs drugs
- Word endings
- addict* will find addict, addicts, addicted, addiction, but child will not find children.
- Phrases (looks for words together and in order)
- "controlled substance"
- UK vs American Spelling
- colour vs color, analyse vs analyze, centre vs centre
For more search help, check out out the Effective Searching Module of the Assignment Toolkit. and our Top Tips for Smarter Searching guide for more search hints
Online Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is a scholarly collection offering thousands of full-text journals covering a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Offers full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window Emerald Insight contains full-text and peer reviewed articles and abstracts covering a broad range of subjects including: business, marketing, management, human resources, quality, engineering, tourism and hospitality management, health Education & Training and nutrition and food science.
- JSTOR – Arts and Sciences Collections This link opens in a new window This collection provides full-text and peer-reviewed articles across the Arts, Humanities, Sciences and Social Sciences disciplines including Art and Art History, Business, Economics, Education, Film Studies, History, Music, Performing Arts, Politic Sciences, Psychology, Sociology. The JSTOR homepage defaults to searching all subscribed databases.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Local, National and International Newspapers plus Company, Industry and Country profiles that include statistical, PESTEL and SWOT analysis
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database covering many subjects, including art, education, humanities, law, social sciences and technology. In addition to full text, this database provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of publications.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect provides abstract and full text access to scholarly research in the Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences and Social Sciences and Humanity. Subject coverage is broad and includes topics such as business, management, accounting, finance, economics, early childhood, education and tourism.
- Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window Access to thousands of high-quality peer-reviewed journal articles from the Social Sciences and Humanities (SSH) Library and Medical Library. The SSH library covers content in the following subject areas : Arts & Humanities, Business, Management & Economics, Criminology & Law, Education, Geography, Planning, Urban & Environment, Library & Information Science, Media, Cultural & Communication Studies, Mental Health & Social Care, Politics, International Relations & Area Studies, Psychology, Sociology & Related Disciplines, Sport, Leisure & Tourism and Strategic, Defense & Security Studies. Key subject areas covered by the Medical Library are: Allied & Public Health, Clinical Psychiatry & Neuroscience, General Medicine & Dentistry, Oncology, Obsterics & Gynaecology, Opthalomology, Orthopedics, Endocrinology, Pharmaceutical Science & Toxicology.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Access to full-text journal articles across all key academic research areas. Subjects covered include: business, chemistry, computer science, engineering, law, life sciences, mathematic, physics, psychology and social sciences.