Find books, ebooks, online journal articles and more...
A-Z of Online Journals
A-Z Online Journals
Search for online journals by title or ISSN.
Online Journals in your Area
Nursing StandardNursing Standard, the UK's most widely read nursing journal, provides you with all the information and tools you need to keep up to date on the latest best practice and meet the NMC's revalidation requirements.
Evidence Based Mental HealthEvidence-Based Mental Health is a Plan S compliant Transformative Journal.
EBMH also features case conferences, expert commentaries and practical statistics articles which enable clinicians to learn and apply an evidence-based approach to their own clinical practice. EBMH is indexed in MEDLINE, Scopus and the Web of Science
Evidence-Based NursingEvidence-Based Nursing systematically searches a wide range of international healthcare journals applying strict criteria for the validity of research and relevance to best nursing practice. Content is critically appraised and the most relevant articles are summarised into succinct expert commentaries, focusing on the papers` key findings and implications for nursing practice.
Journal of Advanced NursingThe Journal of Advanced Nursing (JAN) is a world-leading international peer reviewed journal. JAN targets readers who are committed to advancing practice and professional development on the basis of new knowledge and evidence.
Journal of Nursing ManagementThe Journal of Nursing Management is an international forum which informs and advances the discipline of nursing management and leadership. The Journal encourages scholarly debate and critical analysis resulting in a rich source of evidence which underpins and illuminates the practice of management, innovation and leadership in nursing and health care. It publishes current issues and developments in practice in the form of research papers, in-depth commentaries and analyses.
International Journal of Nursing StudiesThe International Journal of Nursing Studies (IJNS) provides a forum for original research and scholarship about health care delivery, organisation, management, workforce, policy and research methods relevant to nursing, midwifery and other health related professions. The IJNS aims to support evidence informed policy and practice by publishing research, systematic and other scholarly reviews, critical discussion, and commentary of the highest standard
Search Google Scholar
Link MTU Kerry Library to Google Scholar
Did you know you can change your Google Scholar settings so it alerts you if the article is available at MTU Kerry library?
Follow these steps to connect MTU Kerry Library to Google Scholar:
1. Go to Google Scholar and click on the hamburger icon (3 horizontal bars) on the top left of the screen.
2. Scroll down to the bottom of the menu that pops up and click on Settings.
3. Click Library links in the menu on the top left of the page.
4. Search for MTU Kerry, select Munster Technological University MTU Kerry and click Save.
Note: Leave the Open WorldCat box ticked if you want to be able to link to freely available content.
5. Now you're ready to search! On the results page, look for results with the Full-Text @ MTU Kerry links.
Coming from the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycArticles is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology, containing over 100,000 articles from 59 journals. Coverage runs from 1894 to present.
Clinical Skills is a comprehensive e-learning tool providing step by step video demonstrations on clinical skills for nurses.
To login click on the blue INSTITUTIONAL LOGIN button on the right, then search for Tralee and sign in with your Tnumber and password. Following IT Tralee sign in, Clinical Skills requires you to enter your email address and name to create your account and access the resource.
The Health Research Premium Collection from Proquest provides access to the latest medical information essential for medical students and researchers . The collection includes over 4,500 full text health and medical journals, grey literature, instructional videos and more, offering a central access point to a variety of essential medical resources.
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
MEDLINE Complete includes more than 2,200 full-text online journals as well as MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) for more than 5,200 current biomedical journals. Coverage dates back to 1916 and many journals included are available with no embargo, allowing users to access the information as soon as it is published.
Nursing Standard, the UK's most widely read nursing journal, provides you with all the information and tools you need to keep up to date on the latest best practice and meet the NMC's revalidation requirements.
SAGE Research Methods provides material to guide users through every step of the research process.It also features a Methods Map to help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research. Content includes reference works, journal articles, instructional videos, books (including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher) and more.
ScienceDirect provides abstract and full text access to scholarly research in the Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences and Social Sciences and Humanity. Subject coverage is broad and includes topics such as business, management, accounting, finance, economics, early childhood, education and tourism.
SocINDEX with Full Text is often referred to as the world’s most comprehensive database for sociology research. The database offers extensive coverage of the scholarly literature from all sub-disciplines of sociology, including: Criminal Studies, Gender Studies, Ethnic and Racial Studies, Family Studies, Politics, Religion, Rural Sociology, Social Policy, Social Psychology, Social Work, Sociology of Education, Substance Abuse and Urban Studies and many more. SocINDEX contains more than 620 full text journals, more than 600 of which are Peer reviewed and more than 300 have no embargo – so users can access the information as soon as it is published. Access is also provided to full-text, peer-reviewed books and conference papers.
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. It provides the most comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and Arts & Humanities. The database also features smart tools help you track, analyze and visualize research.
Access to full-text journal articles across all key academic research areas. Subjects covered include: business, chemistry, computer science, engineering, law, life sciences, mathematic, physics, psychology and social sciences.
Full-text access to journals published by Oxford University Press and covering a diverse range of disciplines such as: Arts, Humanities, Law, Mathematics, Medicine, Physics, Science, Social Sciences and Technical Sciences.
Search for available books in your area in Ebook Central
Ebook CentralThis link opens in a new windowProQuest’s Ebook Central is an award winning, accessible ebook platform for research, teaching and learning. It includes access to Academic Complete, a multi-disciplinary collection of hundreds of thousands of ebooks covering a wide range of subjects.
The library has also bought individual ebooks in a variety of subjects that are available from a search of the library catalogue and are listed here.
Fundamentals of Nursing Models, Theories and Practice by Hugh McKenna; Majda Pajnkihar; Fiona MurphyA concise, accessible introduction to the development, application and evaluation of nursing theories, this new edition of Fundamentals of Nursing Models, Theories & Practice provides a thorough overview of the body of knowledge on the topic, and a clear outline of their relevance to everyday nursing practice. Linking the development of theory to practice, this full-updated text features learning outcomes, key concept summaries and reflective exercises to aid the study of this key element of all modern nursing courses. Special Features Clearly examines the relationship between nursing theory, clinical practice and nursing roles Accessible and user-friendly with a range of features to help study, including key concepts, learning objectives and reflective exercises Useful for all pre-registration nursing students, as well as newly qualified nurses Accompanied by an online resource centre featuring case studies, multiple choice questions, exercises and activities
Publication Date: 2014
Health Promotion in Health Care - Vital Theories and Research by Gørill Haugan (Editor); Monica Eriksson (Editor)This open access textbook represents a vital contribution to global health education, offering insights into health promotion as part of patient care for bachelor's and master's students in health care (nurses, occupational therapists, physiotherapists, radiotherapists, social care workers etc.) as well as health care professionals, and providing an overview of the field of health science and health promotion for PhD students and researchers. Written by leading experts from seven countries in Europe, America, Africa and Asia, it first discusses the theory of health promotion and vital concepts. It then presents updated evidence-based health promotion approaches in different populations (people with chronic diseases, cancer, heart failure, dementia, mental disorders, long-term ICU patients, elderly individuals, families with newborn babies, palliative care patients) and examines different health promotion approaches integrated into primary care services. This edited scientific anthology provides much-needed knowledge, translating research into guidelines for practice. Today's medical approaches are highly developed; however, patients are human beings with a wholeness of body-mind-spirit. As such, providing high-quality and effective health care requires a holistic physical-psychological-social-spiritual model of health care is required. A great number of patients, both in hospitals and in primary health care, suffer from the lack of a holistic oriented health approach: Their condition is treated, but they feel scared, helpless and lonely. Health promotion focuses on improving people's health in spite of illnesses. Accordingly, health care that supports/promotes patients' health by identifying their health resources will result in better patient outcomes: shorter hospital stays, less re-hospitalization, being better able to cope at home and improved well-being, which in turn lead to lower health-care costs. This scientific anthology is the first of its kind, in that it connects health promotion with the salutogenic theory of health throughout the chapters. the authors here expand the understanding of health promotion beyond health protection and disease prevention. The book focuses on describing and explaining salutogenesis as an umbrella concept, not only as the key concept of sense of coherence.
Publication Date: 2021
Inflammatory Bowel Disease Nursing Manual by Andreas Sturm (Editor); Lydia White (Editor)This comprehensive manual discusses the many aspects of inflammatory bowel disease (IBD), providing relevant information along with practical guidance. The reader is also directed to additional resources for extra and current information. This book comes at a time when the number of people suffering from the two major forms of IBD, ulcerative colitis (UC) and Crohn's disease (CD), is rising around the globe. Despite their huge impact on daily life and health economics, these diseases are not fully understood, and diagnosis and treatment remains a significant challenge. IBD nurses are increasingly recognised as key clinicians within the multidisciplinary team caring for people with IBD. Through experience and specialist knowledge IBD nurses provide timely support, advice, and treatment for people living with this unpredictable condition. IBD nurses are also well placed to liaise with the wider team, developing patient centred services which best fit their local health framework. The combined international expertise and accessible guidance here will equip nurses, or any clinician wanting to increase their competence in IBD management. Thereby this manual aims to contribute to the optimisation of IBD care throughout the world.
Publication Date: 2019
Middle Range Theory for Nursing by Mary Jane Smith; Patricia R. LiehrThree-time recipient of the AJN Book of the Year Award Praise for the third edition: "This is an outstanding edition of this book. It has great relevance for learning about, developing, and using middle range theories. It is very user friendly, yet scholarly." Score: 90, 4 Stars -Doody's Medical Reviews The fourth edition of this invaluable publication on middle range theory in nursing reflects the most current theoretical advances in the field. With five additional chapters, new content incorporates exemplars that bridge middle range theory to advanced nursing practice. Additional content for DNP programs includes two new theories: Bureaucratic Caring and Self-Care of Chronic Illness. This user-friendly text stresses how theory informs practice and research in the everyday world of nursing. Divided into four sections, content sets the stage for understanding middle range theory by elaborating on disciplinary perspectives, an organizing framework, and evaluation of the theory. Middle Range Theory for Nursing, Fourth Edition, presents a broad spectrum of 13 middle range theories. Each theory is broken down into its purpose, development, and conceptual underpinnings, and includes a model demonstrating the relationships among the concepts, and the use of the theory in research and practice. Including concept building for research through the lens of middle range theory, a rigorous 10-phase process that moves from a practice story to a conceptual foundation, and exemplars that clarify the concept building process, this new edition remains an essential text for advanced practice theory and research courses. New to the Fourth Edition: Reflects new theoretical advancesFive completely new chaptersNew exemplars linking middle range theory to advanced nursing practiceNew content for DNP programsTwo new theories: Bureaucratic Caring and Self-Care of Chronic IllnessTwo articles from Advances in Nursing Science documenting a meta-perspective about middle range theory development over the decades Key Features: Provides a strong contextual foundation for understanding middle range theoryIntroduces the Ladder of Abstraction to clarify the "range" of nursing's theoretical foundationPresents 13 middle range theories with philosophical, conceptual, and empirical dimensions of each theoryExamines research application through exemplars demonstrating the use of middle range theory for advanced practice nursingIncludes Appendix summarizing middle range theories from 1988 to 2017
Person-Centred Practice in Nursing and Health Care by Brendan McCormack (Editor); Tanya McCance (Editor)Person-centred Practice in Nursing and Health Care is a comprehensive and practical resource for all nurses and healthcare practitioners who want to develop person-centred ways of working. This second edition which builds on the original text Person Centred Nursing, has been significantly revised and expanded to provide a timely and topical exploration of an important subject which underpins all nursing and healthcare, edited by internationally renowned experts in the field. Person-centred Practice in Nursing and Health Care looks at the importance of person-centred practice (PCP) from a variety of practice, strategic, and policy angles, exploring how the principles of PCP underpin a variety of perspectives, including within leadership and in the curriculum. The book explores not only a range of methodologies, but also covers a variety of different healthcare settings and contexts, including working within mental health services, acute care, nursing homes, the community, and working with children and people with disabilities. Key features: Significantly updated and expanded since the previous edition, taking into account the considerable changes in recent health care advancements, including the 'Francis' report Builds on previous perspectives of person-centredness in nursing and applies them in a broader nursing and health care context Includes a stronger exploration on the role of the service-user Shows the use of life-story and narrative approaches as a way of putting the individual's identity at the heart of the care relationship Includes learning features such as links to current practice developments and reflective questions
Publication Date: 2016
Professional Identity in the Caring Professions by Roger Ellis (Editor); Elaine Hogard (Editor)Professional identity is a central topic in all courses of professional training and educators must decide what kind of identity they hope their students will develop, as well as think about how they can recruit for, facilitate and assess this development. This unique book explores professional identity in a group of caring professions, looking at definition, assessment, and teaching and learning. Professional Identity in the Caring Professions includes overviews of professional identity in nursing, medicine, social work, teaching, and lecturing, along with a further chapter on identity in emergent professions in healthcare. Additional chapters look at innovative approaches to selection, competency development, professional values, leadership potential and reflection as a key element in professional and interprofessional identity. The book ends with guidance for curriculum development in professional education and training, and the assessment of professional identity. This international collection is essential reading for those who plan, deliver and evaluate programs of professional training, as well as scholars and advanced students researching identity in the caring professions, including medicine, nursing, allied health, social work and teaching.
Publication Date: 2020
Theories Guiding Nursing Research and Practice by Joyce J. Fitzpatrick; Geraldine McCarthyThis book] has its origins in courses taught by the editors and their collaborators for doctoral students. It therefore addresses the need to focus on how theories can be applied in the real world of clinical practice and the research based on it. Introductory and concluding sections make the case for the importance of theoretical frameworks when developing practice and research settings. Eighteen chapters cover individual theoretical approaches. While some, such as the theory of human caring and transformational leadership theory, will be familiar to many readers in the UK, others cover new territory... SCORE: 4/5 stars." --John Adams, honorary research associate, Faculty of Nursing and Midwifery, Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland, Nursing Standard This is the first book to clearly and fully demonstrate the process of using theory to guide nursing research and professional practice. It describes a step-by-step format for evaluating nursing theory's applicability to research, a format that links theory (both middle-range and grand theory) to research on a wide range of clinical populations and care delivery systems. The book describes how theory analysis models are used to examine various nursing phenomena as they relate to nursing research and professional practice, and provides key examples of how this is accomplished. The book takes the reader through the process of using a theory to guide research from inception of a research question to evaluation of future research. International experts in theory-related nursing research describe twelve theories that have previously been applied to research and practice and six theories that can be applied to future research and practice. Using a consistent analytic framework, each chapter applies a specific theory (from either nursing, psychology, sociology, or management) to a particular clinical population or care delivery issue. These encompass clinical, administrative, and educational nursing settings. The consistent format facilitates ease of comparison across different theories. Generous use of figures and tables further demonstrates the complex relationships between and among concepts embedded in the theories. Key Features: Demonstrates a systematic format for evaluating middle-range and grand nursing theory's applicability to research Links theory to clinical practice at patient population and care delivery levels Provides a useful template for students of nursing disciplinary knowledge development Presents the scholarship of international researchers of theory-related nursing Includes theories from nursing, psychology, sociology, and management