Creative Writing: Online Library Resources
E Book
How We Write by Covers Writing in the Head, Writing in the Page, Writing in the World...and so forth.
E Book
The Creativity Market by After the 'long work' of alienating creativity from commercial-political worlds, this book is evidence of a new consciousness of the ways these realms overlap, seed, deform and enliven each other. This exchange between writers from UK, the USA, Canada, Australia and Singapore debates and ponders whether creative writing might be a brilliant career move, a player in resurgent global education, a search for community, therapy, magic, an un-saleable invention, or our last real craft. (Professor Kevin Brophy, University of Melbourne, Australia) courtesy of Amazon.com
E Book
The Linguistics of Newswriting by An academic book that summarises and breaks down a lot of the theory on this subject.
E Book
Rethinking Creative Writing in Higher Education by This book states that Creative Writing as a discipline is a victim of its own success. Drawing on experiences either side of the Atlantic and Australia, it dwells on the following themes, reform of the workshop, reflection, literacy, pedagogy and vision.
E Book
The Creative Writer's Survival Guide by All you need to know to encourage that first chapter!
E Book
New Ideas in the Writing Arts by ISBN: 9781443849074Publication Date: 2013-08-01New Ideas in the Writing Arts has come about because recent changes taking place in educational settings have influenced the ways in which learners and teachers are exploring Creative Writing. The worldwide growth of Creative Writing as a formal subject of study in universities and colleges has generated explorations that appear now to be at the tip of an even greater range of explorations that promise to be undertaken in coming years.
E Journal
- The Learning Organization
Topical journal that focuses on learning, education, writing and publishing for the current day organization.
E Journal
- Assessing Writing
This journal has some interesting focus articles such as
-Features of difficult to score essays
-Assessing the teaching of Writing:21st century trends and technologies
- Comparing writing performance in TEOFL:BT and academic assignments
Conference Feature
'The Work of Writing: Lessons from Literary Engineers' is just one of the many interesting papers from the Professional Communication Conference 2009 which is available on our featured database this month, IEEE. It's a stimulating article recounting the need for precise, concise writing especially in the fields of technology and engineering, and informs of the many who have gone on to become professional writers in later life. The author is T.Moran for those inspired to find out the names of all those literary engineers.
Link /https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/document/5208699/
Tip
Do note when using eBook academic collection that you are allowed to print off one whole chapter of all books that you have selected. It informs you what is your maximum copyright limit (differs between UK and American publishers) and then prints off your required amount. Why not pick out 1, 2 or even 3 book chapters from different books pertaining to your subject, and follow up at home or elsewhere, safe in the knowledge you also have an electronic copy to rapidly transfer all those references.
E Journal
- Hudson Review
A popular quarterly featuring essay,memoir, fiction and poetry, in addition to lots of competitions.
Available in full text on our Academic Search Complete database.
Tip
When searching our databases do an Advanced Search and select a subject heading of "creative writing". This will yield more writing titles to flick through and become aware of, than our A to Z of Online-Journals database.
Tip
- Exam papers
Check previous exam papers to get a flavour of general questions and topics that might assist your exam preparation.
They are available on Canvas.
Database
APA PsychArticles has a myriad of articles referencing 'growth after expressive writing', emotional disclosure and creative writing, creative days and importantly.... the psychology of creative writing.
Database
- Sage Reference Online
Sage Reference Online allows access to compelling chapters of high quality handbooks in particular subject areas. Especially useful for the social sciences and featuring lots on 'writing' in all its forms, creative, educational, instructional and the ever growing new media areas.
Handbooks covered include
-Performative Writing
-Writing in EDucation Research
-Cultural Policy
Database
http://ieeexplore.ieee.org/Xplore/home.jsp
You may think this an usual choice given its predominant electronic/mechanical feel and focus, BUT all these things require clear concise writing, explanatory, directional, descriptive etc, SO it's well worth a gander through to see how their professionals perfect their writing skills and their thoughts and application on this.
Database
- JSTOR
A highly regarded database developed in cooperation with Queen's University Belfast. The Ireland Collection adds titles and resources across the arts, humanities and sciences in disciplines such as music, art, history, literature, archaeology, mathematics and biology.
Database
https://www.sciencedirect.com/
Science Direct contains a variance of articles referencing 'reflexive writers' and 'storming and norming' amongst its library of contents.
Database
- Nexis UniMuch of European and American newspaper coverage is referenced in this database.