Marketing: Home
Home
Welcome
Start here
Search the library's print and online resources to find books, ebooks, articles, recordings and more.
Here is a short guide to help you get started: Multisearch: A Quick Overview
The library catalogue lists physical items and ebooks purchased by the library.
Use Multisearch to search the library catalogue and online collections at the same time.
Google Scholar can be a useful search tool when starting your research, but it should not be the only tool you use. However, while you know you can rely on MTU library resources, it is up to you to make sure content you find on Google Scholar is safe to use for your assignments and research.
Did you know you can link Google Scholar to MTU Kerry library so it always tells you when the full text of an article is available in the library?
Here is our Link MTU Kerry Library to Google Scholar guide.
Use the A-Z of Online Journals to find a specific journal or journals on a specific subject.
Searching the library's online resources is a bit different to searching Google. Here are some tips to get you started:
- List keywords for each of the main concepts or ideas in your research question
- What is the impact of global warming on Adelie penguins on the Antartic continent
- Enter keywords not sentences into the search box
- Join keywords using AND
- global warming AND penguins
- Use OR between words with similar meanings and put OR'd words in brackets
- Adelie penguins AND (global warming OR climate change)
- Use quotation marks to look for phrases
- Adelie penguings AND "global warming"
- Try searching with different combinations of keywords and see what works best.
- Use your search results to find new keywords
Things to think about when making your list of keywords
- Synonyms (words that mean the same thing)
- drug abuse, drug addction or substance abuse
- Acronyms (abbreviations)
- GP or General Practitioner, HSE or Health and Safety Executive
- Specialist language
- narcotics vs drugs
- Word endings
- addict* will find addict, addicts, addicted, addiction, but child will not find children.
- Phrases (looks for words together and in order)
- "controlled substance"
- UK vs American Spelling
- colour vs color, analyse vs analyze, centre vs centre
For more search help, check out out the Effective Searching Module of the Assignment Toolkit. and our Top Tips for Smarter Searching guide for more search hints
Information Sources for Marketing
Use these databases to do a more focused search for journal articles that relate to your music topic. Click on the "i" icon to see a description for each database. You can find a full list of library e-resources on the library's A-Z of Online Resources page.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is a scholarly collection offering thousands of full-text journals covering a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology
-
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Offers full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Local, National and International Newspapers plus Company, Industry and Country profiles that include statistical, PESTEL and SWOT analysis
-
Sage Business Cases This link opens in a new window SAGE’s online collection of business cases provides educators and students with unlimited access to thousands of trusted cases from around the world. Content includes cases on in-demand subjects such as entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise and more.
-
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window Access to thousands of high-quality peer-reviewed journal articles from the Social Sciences and Humanities (SSH) Library and Medical Library. The SSH library covers content in the following subject areas : Arts & Humanities, Business, Management & Economics, Criminology & Law, Education, Geography, Planning, Urban & Environment, Library & Information Science, Media, Cultural & Communication Studies, Mental Health & Social Care, Politics, International Relations & Area Studies, Psychology, Sociology & Related Disciplines, Sport, Leisure & Tourism and Strategic, Defense & Security Studies. Key subject areas covered by the Medical Library are: Allied & Public Health, Clinical Psychiatry & Neuroscience, General Medicine & Dentistry, Oncology, Obsterics & Gynaecology, Opthalomology, Orthopedics, Endocrinology, Pharmaceutical Science & Toxicology.
Use Multisearch to find books and ebooks. Here is a selection of print and electronic books available through the library.
-
Foundations of Marketing
by
Call Number: 3 copies of eBook availableISBN: 9781526849007Publication Date: 2022 -
Digital marketing: strategy, implementation and practice
by
Digital Marketing provides comprehensive, practical guidance on how companies can get the most out of digital media to meet their marketing goals. Digital Marketing links marketing theory with practical business experience through case studies and interviews from cutting edge companies such as eBay and Facebook, to help students understand digital marketing in the real world.
Call Number: 658.872 CHAISBN: 9781292400969Publication Date: 2022 -
Marketing Management
by
The classic Marketing Management is an undisputed global best-seller - an encyclopaedia of marketing considered by many as the authoritative book on the subject. This third European edition keeps the accessibility, theoretical rigour and managerial relevance - the heart of the book - and adds: A structure designed specifically to fit the way the course is taught in Europe. Fresh European examples which make students feel at home. The inclusion of the work of prominent European academics. A focus on the digital challenges for marketers. An emphasis on the importance of creative thinking and its contribution to marketing practice. New in-depth case studies, each of which integrates one of the major parts in the book. This textbook covers admirably the wide range of concepts and issues and accurately reflects the fast-moving pace of marketing in the modern world, examining traditional aspects of marketing and blending them with modern and future concepts. A key text for both undergraduate and postgraduate marketing programmes.
Call Number: 658.8 KOTISBN: 9781292093239Publication Date: 2016-03-01 -
500 Social Media Marketing Tips: Essential Advice, Hints and Strategy for Business: Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest, LinkedIn, YouTube, Snapchat, and More!
by
Learn everything you need to know to attract customers and grow your business with social media marketing in 2024. Don't let the name fool you - 500 Social Media Marketing Tips is a complete guide to successful social media marketing for small business! It's jam-packed with expert advice, essential insights and strategies for Facebook, X (Twitter), Instagram, LinkedIn, Pinterest, YouTube, Snapchat, TikTok, and more! This book is perfect for busy entrepreneurs like you: written in simple English with of step-by-step instructions. You will learn: Why Your Business Needs A Social Media Marketing Strategy The Key Foundations For Every Successful Social Media Marketing Plan The Most Effective Content to Share on Social Media (And How to Make It) Hundreds of Tips to Get More Followers and Grow Your Audience How to Use Text, Images, Stories, and Live Video to Grab the Attention of Your Ideal Customer How to Use Paid Advertising to Supercharge Your Content And Reach A Massive Audience ... and more! Ready to Unlock Your Social Media Potential? Join the thousands of business owners who have tapped into the power of 500 Social Media Marketing Tips to attract customers and grow their business. Read the tons of genuine reviews gathered since the first version was published in 2012!
Call Number: 658.872 MACISBN: 9781792796036Publication Date: 2018-12-28 -
Marketing Communications
by
Marketing communication is a dynamic industry, which continues to change and adapt to new technologies, media consumption patterns and communication interfaces between marketers and their target markets. At the same time, the fundamental communication processes and well-established theories and models are very much applicable in this dynamic environment. This revised second edition blends the well-established with the new and emerging aspects of marketing communications. Marketing Communications applies a uniquely practical approach to the topic, providing a structured overview of planning, development, implementation and evaluation of marketing communications, alongside detailed case studies that demonstrate how the theory translates to practice. Fully updated, the new edition considers important developments in the global marketplace. It includes new content on emerging digital media platforms, changing media consumption patterns and consumers' strategies to cope with information overload. It also reflects upon consumer scepticism, a growing phenomenon that communication specialists need to overcome when designing and implementing effective campaigns. This new edition also considers the importance of marketing communications tools in not-for-profit sectors, such as social marketing and political marketing, as well as the cross-cultural aspect of marketing communications. This textbook is essential reading for both students and professionals in marketing, communications and public relations. Online resources include an extensive instructors' guide, which provides answer checklists to all Think boxes, Ethical issues and end-of-chapter cases within the book. The text is also supported by PowerPoint slides and test banks for all chapters and major cases.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781000176513Publication Date: 2020-09-22
Use Multisearch to find journals and ejournals.
Here is a selection of print and ejournals available through the library. Click the "i" icon to quickly see if the journal is available in print or online
Here are some website you may find useful. Remember to always check the quality and reliability of resources you find on websites.
Research Help
Need an idea? - Here are some suggested places to start:
- Multisearch - limit your results by subject or topic.
- Google Scholar - useful for finding existing research.
Not sure how to develop your topic?
- Watch this online tutorial from Sage Research Methods : Defining a topic.
- Read the Identifying a subject for an assignment or research area page of our Research Skills: Finding and evaluating information for essays and theses guide.
Referencing is an essential skill for academic writing. It is important to acknowledge the work of others to avoid plagiarism.
We recommend you complete the following online tutorials from the MTU Libraries Assignment Toolkit.
Here is a link to MTU Kerry Library's Guide to Referencing, Citations and Avoiding Plagiarism (MTU Kerry).
Look for a peer-review limiter on your search results page.
How do I know if a journal is peer-reviewed?
- If you are searching a library database such as CINAHL, use the peer-reviewed limiter.
- Google the journal home page; this information is almost always located on the publisher's website.
- Ask a librarian for help.
Be careful, however! Not all articles within a peer-reviewed journal are peer-reviewed articles.
TIP: Peer-reviewed articles will have an abstract and a list of references.
We recommend you complete the following online tutorials from the MTU Library Assignment Toolkit.
You can also check out the MTU Kerry's Academic Success Centre or MTU Cork's Academic Learning Centre
Contact Us
You Tube Video
Recent Books
