The library has puchased a number of titles from EBSCO's eBook Collection.  

To see a full list of these library owned ebooks, enter an asterisk in the searchbox and click Search.

You can also search for these ebooks using title, author, keyword searching in the usual way.  When your search results page is returned, use the Limit To filter on the left of the page to limit your results to Full Text.

To search eBook Academic Collection:

• Click on the Collections link from the library homepage
• Select eBooks
• Click on the plus [+] sign to the left of eBook Academic Collection 
• Click on the eBook Academic Collection link
• Log in with your MTU Kerry network T-Number and password

Enter your search words, connect them with AND, OR or NOT and select the fields you want to search. 

Select additional search options - we recommend setting search mode to Boolean/Phrase and limiting to Full Text.

Click the search button.

A list of results matching your search terms will be returned.

You can view more details about an ebook by clicking on its title link from the results list.  There are a number of useful tools and features available from the Detailed Record. 

1. View publisher permissions to find out how many pages you can print/email/copy/paste
2. Check user access - see how many users may access the e-book at the same time
3. Click on an authors title link to find more publications by that author
4. Click on a subject or category link to see a new list of results for that specific subject/category
5. From the Tools menu to the right of the page you can:
   • save the record to your folder where you can come back to it later
   • email a copy of the detailed record 
   • create notes - this will be saved to your folder
   • get a permalink  (persistent link to the ebook)

Note: you must be signed into your personal EBSCOhost folder to save an e-book or create a note.

Click on the PDF Full Text or EPUB Full Text link of a result to read the full text online.

To see a list of the chapters in the ebook, click on the Table of Contents link.   Click on the plus [+] sign beside a chapter link to view subsections in the chapter. You can go directly to a chapter or section of a chapter by clicking on the hyperlink from the table of contents.  

When you click a FullText link the ebook opens in eBook Viewer.  Included in the row of tools across the top of the Viewer, are tools that allow you to look up words in a dictionary and print pages

Depending on whether you are reading the book in PDF or EPUB format the following options are available in the toolbar at the bottom of the viewer:

• Page Navigation: Use the page navigation arrows to move up or down one page at a time or enter a page number in the field provided and click Go.

• Zoom Out: Click the icon to zoom out on the page.

• Zoom In: Click the icon to zoom in on the page.

• Fit Page Width: Click the icon to fit the page by width in the viewing area.

• Fit Page: Click the icon to view the entire page in the viewing area.

• Fit Page to Viewport: Click the icon to fit the entire page into the viewport.

If you are using your own computer or laptop to download an ebook from the Ebook Academic Collection you will need to download Adobe Digital Editions.  This is available free from the ADE website. 

You will also need to create a free ADE personal account.

To download an eBook click the Full Download icon for the item from your search results list.

From the popup box:

• Select a Download duration from the drop-down menu.  This is the length of time the ebook will remain on your PC or laptop.  Once the download duration has expired you will need to find and download the ebook again if you want to continue reading it.
• confirm that you have Adobe® Digital Editions or equivalent reader software installed.
• Click the Full Download button.

The eBook is added to the Checkout area of the folder in the top right corner of the screen.

When you download the book, it creates a .acsm file in the ‘Download’ area on your computer (in Google Chrome the file appears in the bottom left corner of the screen).

Select to Open or Save (Show in folder) the file from the pop up box in the bottom left corner of the screen.

If you Open the file, your eBook is opened with Adobe® Digital Editions.

If you Save the file, the eBook is saved to your computer and can be opened with Adobe® Digital Editions at a later time.

Downloaded e-books can also be transferred to any mobile e-book reader that supports Adobe Digital Editions. There is a list of compatible devices on the ADE website.

If you are using an e-book reader, it is recommended that you download the EPUB, rather than the PDF format.  The EPUB format automatically re-sizes to fit the screen on any device.

Generally, up to 100 pages of an eBook can be printed or emailed per user from within the eBook Full Text viewer.  However, the exact number of pages may vary depending on individual publisher-specified limits.  

To print or email pages from an ebook you must first save them in PDF format:

• Open the eBook in the eBook Full Text viewer.
• Go to the first page of the section of pages you would like to print and click the Save Pages in the tools menu above.

       The Save Pages to PDF menu is displayed.

• Choose the number of pages you want to save:
  • Current Page: Save only the page you are viewing.
  • Current Page and the next XX pages: Enter the number of pages (up to 60) in the field provided.
  • This Section: Select to save the entire section or chapter of the eBook. (If available to select)

Once the pages are saved in PDF format, you can either save or email them:

• Save PDF: To save the selected pages to your computer.
• Send as an E-mail: To e-mail the selected pages as a PDF file to yourself.

To print the pages, open the saved PDF document and use the Adobe Print function at the top of the page.

Note: eBook pages saved as a PDF can be transferred to, and read on eReader devices such as the Nook or Kindle. Consult your device's user manual for instructions on how to manually transfer files to the device.