Engineering Materials: Home
Home
Welcome
Start here
Search the library's print and online resources to find books, ebooks, articles, recordings and more.
Here is a short guide to help you get started: Multisearch: A Quick Overview
The library catalogue lists physical items and ebooks purchased by the library.
Use Multisearch to search the library catalogue and online collections at the same time.
Google Scholar can be a useful search tool when starting your research, but it should not be the only tool you use. However, while you know you can rely on MTU library resources, it is up to you to make sure content you find on Google Scholar is safe to use for your assignments and research.
Did you know you can link Google Scholar to MTU Kerry library so it always tells you when the full text of an article is available in the library?
Here is our Link MTU Kerry Library to Google Scholar guide.
Use the A-Z of Online Journals to find a specific journal or journals on a specific subject.
Searching the library's online resources is a bit different to searching Google. Here are some tips to get you started:
- List keywords for each of the main concepts or ideas in your research question
- What is the impact of global warming on Adelie penguins on the Antartic continent
- Enter keywords not sentences into the search box
- Join keywords using AND
- global warming AND penguins
- Use OR between words with similar meanings and put OR'd words in brackets
- Adelie penguins AND (global warming OR climate change)
- Use quotation marks to look for phrases
- Adelie penguings AND "global warming"
- Try searching with different combinations of keywords and see what works best.
- Use your search results to find new keywords
Things to think about when making your list of keywords
- Synonyms (words that mean the same thing)
- drug abuse, drug addction or substance abuse
- Acronyms (abbreviations)
- GP or General Practitioner, HSE or Health and Safety Executive
- Specialist language
- narcotics vs drugs
- Word endings
- addict* will find addict, addicts, addicted, addiction, but child will not find children.
- Phrases (looks for words together and in order)
- "controlled substance"
- UK vs American Spelling
- colour vs color, analyse vs analyze, centre vs centre
For more search help, check out out the Effective Searching Module of the Assignment Toolkit. and our Top Tips for Smarter Searching guide for more search hints
Information Sources for (Subject)
Use these databases to do a more focused search for journal articles that relate to your music topic. Click on the "i" icon to see a description for each database.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is a scholarly collection offering thousands of full-text journals covering a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology
-
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window The IEEE Xplore digital library offers online access to almost 3-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. This resource holds 151 journals, over 900 conference proceedings, more than 3,400 technical standards, over 400 ebooks and 200 educational courses. Please note that around 25,000 new documents are added to IEEE Xplore each month
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect provides abstract and full text access to scholarly research in the Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences and Social Sciences and Humanity. Subject coverage is broad and includes topics such as business, management, accounting, finance, economics, early childhood, education and tourism.
-
Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window Springer provides access to a comprehensive collection of quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Subjects: Biological Sciences, Business and Management, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth and Environmental Sciences, Health Sciences, Humanities and Social Sciences, Materials Science, Mathematics, Physics and Astronomy, Statistics, Technology and Engineering.
-
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Access to full-text journal articles across all key academic research areas. Subjects covered include: business, chemistry, computer science, engineering, law, life sciences, mathematic, physics, psychology and social sciences.
You can find a full list of library e-resources on the library's A-Z of Online Resources page.
Use Multisearch to find books and ebooks. Here is a selection of print and electronic books available through the library.
-
Callister's Materials Science and Engineering
by
Callister's Materials Science and Engineering: An Introduction promotes student understanding of the three primary types of materials (metals, ceramics, and polymers) and composites, as well as the relationships that exist between the structural elements of materials and their properties. The 10th edition provides new or updated coverage on a number of topics, including: the Materials Paradigm and Materials Selection Charts, 3D printing and additive manufacturing, biomaterials, recycling issues and the Hall effect.
Call Number: 620.11 CALISBN: 9781119453918Publication Date: 2020 -
Engineering Materials
by
Materials science is an interdisciplinary branch of science that studies changes in the materials properties in both solid and liquid states, depending on some factors. This book edition covers different topics from engineering materials, including characteristics of engineering materials, spectroscopy techniques, semiconductor materials, and materials for batteries.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781774699935Publication Date: 2024 -
Materials for Engineers and Technicians
by
For over forty years, Materials for Engineers and Technicians has given thousands of students an easily accessible introduction to materials engineering and manufacturing processes. This renowned text is a comprehensive overview of the wide-ranging subject area, written in a straightforward, readable style. It is devoid of excessive jargon and mathematical complexity, and retains a practical down-to-earth approach. This expanded edition references specifications for materials and materials testing that have been updated to include European-wide standards of the EU. More applications of materials and case studies have been included. New content discusses the choice of materials and processes in relation to 3D printing and the importance of materials recycling and sustainability. The increased emphasis on the selection of materials reflects this aspect of materials engineering now seen within current vocational and university courses. In addition to meeting the requirements of vocational and undergraduate engineering syllabuses, this text also serves as a valuable desktop reference for professional engineers working in product design who require a quick source of information on materials and manufacturing processes.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781000209181Publication Date: 2020 -
New Materials in Civil Engineering
by
New Materials in Civil Engineering provides engineers and scientists with the tools and methods needed to meet the challenge of designing and constructing more resilient and sustainable infrastructures. This book is a valuable guide to the properties, selection criteria, products, applications, lifecycle and recyclability of advanced materials. It presents an A-to-Z approach to all types of materials, highlighting their key performance properties, principal characteristics and applications. Traditional materials covered include concrete, soil, steel, timber, fly ash, geosynthetic, fiber-reinforced concrete, smart materials, carbon fiber and reinforced polymers. In addition, the book covers nanotechnology and biotechnology in the development of new materials.- Covers a variety of materials, including fly ash, geosynthetic, fiber-reinforced concrete, smart materials, carbon fiber reinforced polymer and waste materials- Provides a "one-stop resource of information for the latest materials and practical applications- Includes a variety of different use case studies
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780128190753Publication Date: 2020 -
Organic Electronics 1: Materials and Physical Processes
by
Due to their special properties, organic semiconductors enable the development of large-area, low-cost devices, paving the way for flexible and nomadic applications that advantageously replace those made with traditional semiconductors. This book describes the properties and deposition methods of organic semiconductors, transparent conductive materials or metals which are used in the fabrication of organic devices. The physical processes (optical, electrical and interface) that control the mechanisms in the formation and transport of the charge carriers of the materials are studied and explained in detail. Organic Electronics 1 introduces the fundamental and applied aspects of the field of organic electronics. It is intended for researchers and students in university programs or engineering schools specializing in electronics, energy and materials.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781119818922Publication Date: 2021
Use Multisearch to find journals and ejournals.
Here is a selection of print and ejournals available through the library. Click the "i" icon to quickly see if the journal is available in print or online
-
Fatigue and Fracture of Engineering Materials and Structure
Fatigue & Fracture of Engineering Materials & Structures (FFEMS) encompasses the broad topic of structural integrity which is founded on the mechanics of fatigue and fracture, and is concerned with the reliability and effectiveness of various materials and structural components of any scale or geometry. The editors publish original contributions that will stimulate the intellectual innovation that generates elegant, effective and economic engineering designs. The journal is interdisciplinary and includes papers from scientists and engineers in the fields of materials science, mechanics, physics, chemistry, etc.
-
Journal of Electronic Materials The Journal of Electronic Materials reports on the science and technology of electronic materials, while examining new applications of semiconductors, metallic and magnetic alloys, insulators, and optical and display materials.
-
Materials science & engineering. A, Structural materials : properties, microstructure and processing
Materials Science and Engineering A provides an international medium for the publication of theoretical and experimental studies related to the load-bearing capacity of materials as influenced by their basic properties, processing history, microstructure and operating environment. Appropriate submissions to Materials Science and Engineering A should include scientific and/or engineering factors which affect the microstructure - strength relationships of materials and report the changes to mechanical behavior.
-
Strength of Materials Strength of Materials is a peer-reviewed journal focusing on the strength of materials and structures under various mechanical and thermal loading conditions.
Use these resources to search for published standards. You'll find them on the A-Z of Online Resources page of the library website
-
IHS This link opens in a new window Offering access to The Occupational Health and Safety Information Service, Environmental Management, Specify-IT, Engineer-IT and The Irish Construction Information Service Plus, IHS is a leading edge supplier of BSi British Standards, Standards, Regulations and Product and Supplier Information
-
SAI Global i2i Platform This link opens in a new window Access to all Irish (I.S.), European (EN) and International (ISO) standards. Standards can be read on screen or downloaded in full-text (when available).
-
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window The IEEE Xplore digital library offers online access to almost 3-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. This resource holds 151 journals, over 900 conference proceedings, more than 3,400 technical standards, over 400 ebooks and 200 educational courses. Please note that around 25,000 new documents are added to IEEE Xplore each month
Select Standards from the drop down list to the left of the Basic or Advanced Search boxes and enter your search terms
Here are some website you may find useful. Remember to always check the quality and reliability of resources you find on websites.
-
engineering.com Brings the most influential voices in engineering to a worldwide audience of designers and engineers. These stories highlight the latest advances in technology for product innovation and manufacturing.
-
Engineers Ireland Engineers Ireland is one of the oldest professional bodies for engineering in Ireland. Student membership is free.
-
IET.tv Webcasts from the the Institute of Engineering and Technology. Student membership available.
-
MatWeb Searchable database of material properties.
-
Total Materia - Material Basics n Material Basics you can find comprehensive information on a range of subjects relating to materials, from explanation of their properties and characteristics to help on deciphering complicated standard designation systems.
Research Help
Need an idea? - Here are some suggested places to start:
- Multisearch - limit your results by subject or topic.
- Google Scholar - useful for finding existing research.
Not sure how to develop your topic?
- Watch this online tutorial from Sage Research Methods : Defining a topic.
- Read the Identifying a subject for an assignment or research area page of our Research Skills: Finding and evaluating information for essays and theses guide.
Referencing is an essential skill for academic writing. It is important to acknowledge the work of others to avoid plagiarism.
We recommend you complete the following online tutorials from the MTU Libraries Assignment Toolkit.
Here is a link to MTU Kerry Library's Guide to Referencing, Citations and Avoiding Plagiarism (MTU Kerry).
Look for a peer-review limiter on your search results page.
How do I know if a journal is peer-reviewed?
- If you are searching a library database such as CINAHL, use the peer-reviewed limiter.
- Google the journal home page; this information is almost always located on the publisher's website.
- Ask a librarian for help.
Be careful, however! Not all articles within a peer-reviewed journal are peer-reviewed articles.
TIP: Peer-reviewed articles will have an abstract and a list of references.
We recommend you complete the following online tutorials from the MTU Library Assignment Toolkit.
You can also check out the MTU Kerry's Academic Success Centre or MTU Cork's Academic Learning Centre
Recent Books
