Soil Science: Home
Home
Welcome
New to research? Explore the Library's Assignment Toolkit to learn all about the research process.Start here
Search the library's print and online resources to find books, ebooks, articles, recordings and more.
Here is a short guide to help you get started: Multisearch: A Quick Overview
The library catalogue lists physical items and ebooks purchased by the library.
Use Multisearch to search the library catalogue and online collections at the same time.
Google Scholar can be a useful search tool when starting your research, but it should not be the only tool you use. However, while you know you can rely on MTU library resources, it is up to you to make sure content you find on Google Scholar is safe to use for your assignments and research.
Did you know you can link Google Scholar to MTU Kerry library so it always tells you when the full text of an article is available in the library?
Here is our Link MTU Kerry Library to Google Scholar guide.
Use the A-Z of Online Journals to find a specific journal or journals on a specific subject.
Searching the library's online resources is a bit different to searching Google. Here are some tips to get you started:
- List keywords for each of the main concepts or ideas in your research question
- What is the impact of global warming on Adelie penguins on the Antartic continent
- Enter keywords not sentences into the search box
- Join keywords using AND
- global warming AND penguins
- Use OR between words with similar meanings and put OR'd words in brackets
- Adelie penguins AND (global warming OR climate change)
- Use quotation marks to look for phrases
- Adelie penguings AND "global warming"
- Try searching with different combinations of keywords and see what works best.
- Use your search results to find new keywords
Things to think about when making your list of keywords
- Synonyms (words that mean the same thing)
- drug abuse, drug addction or substance abuse
- Acronyms (abbreviations)
- GP or General Practitioner, HSE or Health and Safety Executive
- Specialist language
- narcotics vs drugs
- Word endings
- addict* will find addict, addicts, addicted, addiction, but child will not find children.
- Phrases (looks for words together and in order)
- "controlled substance"
- UK vs American Spelling
- colour vs color, analyse vs analyze, centre vs centre
For more search help, check out out the Effective Searching Module of the Assignment Toolkit. and our Top Tips for Smarter Searching guide for more search hints
Information Sources for (Subject)
Use these databases to do a more focused search for journal articles that relate to your music topic. Click on the "i" icon to see a description for each database.
-
Cambridge University Press Journals This link opens in a new window Access to a wide range of full-text articles from hundreds of peer-reviewed, academic journals in the Sciences, Computer Sciences, Technology, Arts, Film, Music, Business, Social Sciences, Psychology, Law and Education areas.
-
Oxford Academic Journals Online This link opens in a new window Full-text access to journals published by Oxford University Press and covering a diverse range of disciplines such as: Arts, Humanities, Law, Mathematics, Medicine, Physics, Science, Social Sciences and Technical Sciences.
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect provides abstract and full text access to scholarly research in the Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences and Social Sciences and Humanity. Subject coverage is broad and includes topics such as business, management, accounting, finance, economics, early childhood, education and tourism.
-
Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window Springer provides access to a comprehensive collection of quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Subjects: Biological Sciences, Business and Management, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth and Environmental Sciences, Health Sciences, Humanities and Social Sciences, Materials Science, Mathematics, Physics and Astronomy, Statistics, Technology and Engineering.
-
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Access to full-text journal articles across all key academic research areas. Subjects covered include: business, chemistry, computer science, engineering, law, life sciences, mathematic, physics, psychology and social sciences.
You can find a full list of library e-resources on the library's A-Z of Online Resources page.
Use Multisearch to find books and ebooks. Here is a selection of print and electronic books available through the library.
-
Managing Soil Health for Sustainable Agriculture Volume 1
by
There has been growing concern that both intensive agriculture in the developed world and rapid expansion of crop cultivation in developing countries is damaging the health of soils which are the foundation of farming. At the same time we are discovering much more about how complex soils are as living biological systems. This volume reviews the latest research on soil science. After an overview of the role of soil as a provider of ecosystem services and in conservation agriculture, the book reviews soil structure and chemistry as well organic matter, soil microorganisms and fauna. The second part of the book discusses soil dynamics, from water and nutrient cycles to carbon capture and erosion mechanisms. With its distinguished editor and international team of expert authors, this will be a standard reference for soil scientists and agronomists as well as the farming community and government agencies responsible for monitoring soil health. It is accompanied by a companion volume looking at soil monitoring and management.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781786761903Publication Date: 2018 -
Multi-Scale Biogeochemical Processes in Soil Ecosystems
by
MULTI-SCALE BIOGEOCHEMICAL PROCESSES IN SOIL ECOSYSTEMS Provides a state-of-the-art overview of research in soil biogeochemical processes and strategies for greenhouse gas mitigation under climate change Food security and soil health for the rapidly growing human population are threatened by increased temperature and drought, soil erosion and soil quality degradation, and other problems caused by human activities and a changing climate. Because greenhouse gas emission is the primary driver of climate change, a complete understanding of the cycles of carbon and major nutritional elements is critical for developing innovative strategies to sustain agricultural development and environmental conservation. Multi-Scale Biogeochemical Processes in Soil Ecosystems: Critical Reactions and Resilience to Climate Changes is an up-to-date overview of recent research in soil biogeochemical processes and applications in ecosystem management. Organized into three parts, the text examines molecular-scale processes and critical reactions, presents ecosystem-scale studies of ecological hotspots, and discusses large-scale modeling and prediction of global biogeochemical cycles. Part of the Wiley - IUPAC Series on Biophysico-Chemical Processes in Environmental Systems, this authoritative volume: Provides readers with a systematic and interdisciplinary approach to sustainable agricultural development and management of soil ecosystems in a changing climate Features contributions from an international team of leading scientists Examines topics such as soil organic matter stabilization, soil biogeochemistry modeling, and soil responses to environmental changes Discusses strategies for mitigating greenhouse gas emission and improving soil health and ecosystems resilience Includes an introduction to working across scales to project soil biogeochemical responses to climatic change Multi-Scale Biogeochemical Processes in Soil Ecosystems: Critical Reactions and Resilience to Climate Changes is essential reading for scientists, engineers, agronomists, chemists, biologists, academic researchers, consultants, and other professionals whose work involves the nutrient cycle, ecosystem management, and climate change.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781119480471Publication Date: 2022 -
The Nature and Properties of Soils
by
Developed for Introduction to Soils or Soil Science courses, The Nature and Properties of Soils, 15th Edition, can be used in courses such as Soil Fertility, Land Resources, Earth Science and Soil Geography. The Nature and Properties of Soils is designed to engage today's students with the latest in the world of soils. This hallmark text introduces students to the exciting world of soils through clear writing, strong pedagogy, and an ecological approach that effectively explains the fundamentals of soil science. Worked calculations, vignettes, and current real-world applications prepare readers to understand concepts, solve problems, and think critically. Written for both majors and non-majors, this text highlights the many interactions between the soil and other components of forest, range, agricultural, wetland and constructed ecosystems. Now in full-colour, the 15th Edition includes hundreds of compelling photos, figures, and diagrams to bring the exciting world of soils to life. Extensively revised, new and updated content appears in every chapter. Examples include: coverage of the pedosphere concept; new insights into humus and soil carbon accumulation; subaqueous soils, soil effects on human health; principles and practice of organic farming; urban and human engineered soils; new understandings of the nitrogen cycle; water-saving irrigation techniques; hydraulic redistribution, soil food-web ecology; disease suppressive soils; soil microbial genomics; soil interactions with global climate change; digital soil maps; and many others. The full text downloaded to your computer With eBooks you can: search for key concepts, words and phrases make highlights and notes as you study share your notes with friends eBooks are downloaded to your computer and accessible either offline through the Bookshelf (available as a free download), available online and also via the iPad and Android apps. Upon purchase, you'll gain instant access to this eBook. Time limit The eBooks products do not have an expiry date. You will continue to access your digital ebook products whilst you have your Bookshelf installed.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781292162249Publication Date: 2016 -
Soil Bioremediation
by
SOIL BIOREMEDIATION A practical guide to the environmentally sustainable bioremediation of soil Soil Bioremediation: An Approach Towards Sustainable Technology provides the first comprehensive discussion of sustainable and effective techniques for soil bioremediation involving microbes. Presenting established and updated research on emerging trends in bioremediation, this book provides contributions from both experimental and numerical researchers who provide reports on significant field trials. Soil Bioremediation instructs the reader on several different environmentally friendly bioremediation techniques, including: Bio-sorption Bio-augmentation Bio-stimulation Emphasizing molecular approaches and biosynthetic pathways of microbes, this one-of-a-kind reference focuses heavily on the role of microbes in the degradation and removal of xenobiotic substances from the environment and presents a unique management and conservation perspective in the field of environmental microbiology. Soil Bioremediation is perfect for undergraduate students in the fields of environmental science, microbiology, limnology, freshwater ecology and microbial biotechnology. It is also invaluable for researchers and scientists working in the areas of environmental science, environmental microbiology, and waste management.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781119547969Publication Date: 2021 -
Soil Microbiology
by
An updated text exploring the properties of the soil microbial community Today, the environmentally oriented specialties of microbiology are shifting from considering a single or a few microbial species to focusing on the entire microbial community and its interactions.  The third edition of Soil Microbiology has been fully revised and updated to reflect this change, with a new focus on microbial communities and how they impact global ecology. The third edition still provides thorough coverage of basic soil microbiology principles, yet the textbook also expands students' understanding of the role the soil microbial community plays in global environmental health and human health. They can also learn more about the techniques used to conduct analysis at this level. Readers will benefit from the edition's expanded use of figures and tables as well as the recommendations for further reading found within each chapter. Considers the impact of environmental perturbations on microbial community structure as well as the implications for soil system functions Discusses the impact of soil microbial communities on food and health related issues Emphasizes the importance of soil microbial communities on the sustainability of terrestrial ecosystems and solutions to global issues This third edition is a suitable text for those studying soil microbiology and soil ecology at the undergraduate or graduate level. It also serves as a valuable reference tool for professionals working in the fields of reclamation and soil management.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781119114352Publication Date: 2020
Use Multisearch to find journals and ejournals.
Here is a selection of print and ejournals available through the library. Click the "i" icon to quickly see if the journal is available in print or online
-
Applied and Environmental Soil Science
Applied and Environmental Soil Science is a peer-reviewed, Open Access journal that publishes research and review articles in the field of soil science. Its coverage reflects the multidisciplinary nature of soil science, and focuses on studies that take account of the dynamics and spatial heterogeneity of processes in soil. Basic studies of the physical, chemical, biochemical, and biological properties of soil, innovations in soil analysis, and the development of statistical tools will be published.
Among the major environmental issues addressed will be:
Pollution by trace elements and nutrients in excess
Climate change and global warming
Soil stability and erosion
Water quality
Quality of agricultural crops
Plant nutrition
Soil hydrology
Biodiversity of soils
Role of micro- and mesofauna in soil
-
European Journal of Soil Science
The European Journal of Soil Science (EJSS) is an international journal that publishes outstanding papers in soil science that advance the theoretical and mechanistic understanding of physical, chemical and biological processes and their interactions in soils acting from molecular to continental scales in natural and managed environments, as well as descriptions of data sets that contribute to these goals.
-
Pedosphere
Pedosphere is sponsored jointly by the Soil Science Society of China and the Institute of Soil Science, Chinese Academy of Sciences in cooperation with 5 of the most important Chinese institutions and universities working in the field of soil science: China Agricultural University; the Institute of Applied Ecology, Chinese Academy of Sciences; Nanjing Agricultural University; South China Agricultural University; and Zhejiang University. Pedosphere is a peer-reviewed international journal published bimonthly in English by Elsevier Limited and Science Press.
-
Soil biology & biochemistry
Soil Biology & Biochemistry publishes original, scientifically challenging research articles of international significance that describe and provide insight into biological processes occurring in soil.
-
Water, Air, & Soil Pollution Water, Air, & Soil Pollution is an interdisciplinary journal publishing research on all aspects of pollution and solutions to pollution in the biosphere.
The Irish Soil Information System project has developed a national association soil map for Ireland at a scale of 1:250,000, together with an associated digital soil information system and provides both spatial and quantitative information on soil types and properties across the country. The project is co-funded by Teagasc, the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and Science, Technology and Research & Innovation for the Environment (STRIVE) programme and is freely available to the public.
Go to ► Irish Soil Information System
Here are some website you may find useful. Remember to always check the quality and reliability of resources you find on websites.
-
European Joint Programme for Soil (EJP Soil) EJP SOIL is a European Joint Programme on Agricultural Soil Management addressing key societal challenges including climate change and future food supply. The aim of the programme is to build a sustainable European integrated research system and develop and deploy a reference framework on climate-smart, sustainable agricultural soil management.
-
European Union Publications Enter your keywords in the text box, select EU publications and click Search.
-
Geographical Survey of Ireland (GSI) Geological Survey Ireland (GSI) is Ireland's public earth science knowledge centre and is a division of the Department of the Environment, Climate and Communications. GSI is committed to providing free, open and accurate data and maps on Ireland's subsurface to landowners, the public, industry, and all other stakeholders, within Ireland and internationally. In addition, GSI acts as a project partner in interpreting data and developing models and viewers to allow people to understand underground. GSI deals with a diverse array of topics including bedrock, groundwater, seabed mapping, natural disasters, and public health risks.
-
Soil Science Society of Ireland The Soil Science Society of Ireland is an all-Ireland body for professionals and students working in the discipline of soil science. The society actively promotes research, knowledge transfer and sustainable management of soils in Ireland through scientific meetings, fieldtrips, and discussion forums.
-
Teagasc - Soil Includes the following Teagasc soil science resources: Soil Information System Soil Fertility NMP Online Soil Drainage Research
Research Help
Need an idea? - Here are some suggested places to start:
- Multisearch - limit your results by subject or topic.
- Google Scholar - useful for finding existing research.
Not sure how to develop your topic?
- Watch this online tutorial from Sage Research Methods : Defining a topic.
- Read the Identifying a subject for an assignment or research area page of our Research Skills: Finding and evaluating information for essays and theses guide.
Referencing is an essential skill for academic writing. It is important to acknowledge the work of others to avoid plagiarism.
We recommend you complete the following online tutorials from the MTU Libraries Assignment Toolkit.
Here is a link to MTU Kerry Library's Guide to Referencing, Citations and Avoiding Plagiarism (MTU Kerry).
Look for a peer-review limiter on your search results page.
How do I know if a journal is peer-reviewed?
- If you are searching a library database such as CINAHL, use the peer-reviewed limiter.
- Google the journal home page; this information is almost always located on the publisher's website.
- Ask a librarian for help.
Be careful, however! Not all articles within a peer-reviewed journal are peer-reviewed articles.
TIP: Peer-reviewed articles will have an abstract and a list of references.
We recommend you complete the following online tutorials from the MTU Library Assignment Toolkit.
You can also check out the MTU Kerry's Academic Success Centre or MTU Cork's Academic Learning Centre
Contact Us
Related Guides
-
Botany Plant Science (Botany) Subject Guide
-
Crop Science Crop Science Subject Guide
Recent Books
