Computing: Home
Home
Welcome
Start here
Search the library's print and online resources to find books, ebooks, articles, recordings and more.
Here is a short guide to help you get started: Multisearch: A Quick Overview
The library catalogue lists physical items and ebooks purchased by the library.
Use Multisearch to search the library catalogue and online collections at the same time.
Google Scholar can be a useful search tool when starting your research, but it should not be the only tool you use. However, while you know you can rely on MTU library resources, it is up to you to make sure content you find on Google Scholar is safe to use for your assignments and research.
Did you know you can link Google Scholar to MTU Kerry library so it always tells you when the full text of an article is available in the library?
Here is our Link MTU Kerry Library to Google Scholar guide.
Use the A-Z of Online Journals to find a specific journal or journals on a specific subject.
Searching the library's online resources is a bit different to searching Google. Here are some tips to get you started:
- List keywords for each of the main concepts or ideas in your research question
- What is the impact of global warming on Adelie penguins on the Antartic continent
- Enter keywords not sentences into the search box
- Join keywords using AND
- global warming AND penguins
- Use OR between words with similar meanings and put OR'd words in brackets
- Adelie penguins AND (global warming OR climate change)
- Use quotation marks to look for phrases
- Adelie penguings AND "global warming"
- Try searching with different combinations of keywords and see what works best.
- Use your search results to find new keywords
Things to think about when making your list of keywords
- Synonyms (words that mean the same thing)
- drug abuse, drug addction or substance abuse
- Acronyms (abbreviations)
- GP or General Practitioner, HSE or Health and Safety Executive
- Specialist language
- narcotics vs drugs
- Word endings
- addict* will find addict, addicts, addicted, addiction, but child will not find children.
- Phrases (looks for words together and in order)
- "controlled substance"
- UK vs American Spelling
- colour vs color, analyse vs analyze, centre vs centre
For more search help, check out out the Effective Searching Module of the Assignment Toolkit. and our Top Tips for Smarter Searching guide for more search hints
Information Sources for Computing
Use these databases to do a more focused search for journal articles that relate to your music topic. Click on the "i" icon to see a description for each database. You can find a full list of library e-resources on the library's A-Z of Online Resources page.
-
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window The ACM Digital Library is a research, discovery and networking platform containing: The Full-Text Collection of all ACM publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books. A collection of curated and hosted full-text publications from select publishers. The ACM Guide to Computing Literature, a comprehensive bibliographic database focused exclusively on the field of computing. A richly interlinked set of connections among authors, works, institutions, and specialized communities.
-
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window ProQuest’s Ebook Central is an award winning, accessible ebook platform for research, teaching and learning. It includes access to Academic Complete, a multi-disciplinary collection of hundreds of thousands of ebooks covering a wide range of subjects.
-
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window The IEEE Xplore digital library offers online access to almost 3-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. This resource holds 151 journals, over 900 conference proceedings, more than 3,400 technical standards, over 400 ebooks and 200 educational courses. Please note that around 25,000 new documents are added to IEEE Xplore each month
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect provides abstract and full text access to scholarly research in the Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences and Social Sciences and Humanity. Subject coverage is broad and includes topics such as business, management, accounting, finance, economics, early childhood, education and tourism.
-
Springer Computer Science eBooksAccess is limited to eBooks published in 2024
-
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Access to full-text journal articles across all key academic research areas. Subjects covered include: business, chemistry, computer science, engineering, law, life sciences, mathematic, physics, psychology and social sciences.
Use Multisearch to find books and ebooks. Here is a selection of print and electronic books available through the library.
-
-
Foundation mathematics for computer science : a visual approach
by
Call Number: 004.0151 VINISBN: 9783031174100Publication Date: 2023 -
Head First Python
by
What will you learn from this book? Want to learn the Python language without slogging your way through how-to manuals? With Head First Python, you'll quickly grasp Python's fundamentals by working with built-in data structures and functions. You'll build your very own web app, which--once it's ready for prime time--runs in the cloud. You'll learn how to wrangle data with Python, scrape data from the web, feed data to pandas, and interact with databases. This third edition is a complete learning experience that will help you become a bona fide Python programmer in no time. What's so special about this book? If you've read a Head First book, you know what to expect: a visually rich format designed for the way your brain works. If you haven't, you're in for a treat. With this book, you'll learn Python through a multisensory experience that engages your mind--rather than a text-heavy approach that puts you to sleep.
Call Number: 3 copies of eBookISBN: 9781492051299Publication Date: 2023-09-19 -
Learning C# by Developing Games with Unity 5. X Second Edition
by
Develop your first interactive 2D platformer game by learning the fundamentals of C# Get to grips with the fundamentals of scripting in C# with Unity* Create an awesome, 2D platformer game from scratch using the principles of object-oriented programming and coding in C#* This is a step-by-step guide to learn the fundamentals of C# scripting to develop Game Objects and master the basics of the new UI system in Unity Who.
ISBN: 9781785287596Publication Date: 2016-03-31 -
The Principles of Beautiful Web Design
by
The Principles of Beautiful Web Design is the ideal book for anyone who wants to design stunning websites that provide a great user experience. Perhaps you're a developer who wants to understand how to make your applications more visually appealing, or you're a novice who wants to start on the path to becoming a designer. This book will teach you how to: Understand what makes "good design," from discovery through to implementation Use color effectively, develop color schemes, and create a palette Create pleasing layouts using grids, the rule of thirds, and symmetry Employ textures: lines, points, shapes, volumes, and depth Apply typography to make ordinary designs look great Choose, edit, and position effective imagery This easy-to-follow guide is illustrated with beautiful, full-color examples, and will lead you through the process of creating great designs from start to finish. The fourth edition of this bestselling book has been greatly revised and now features: Updated and expanded coverage responsive web design techniques A new sample project New sections on pattern libraries and how design fits on modern app development workflows Common user-interface patterns and resources
ISBN: 9781098124748Publication Date: 2020-10-13
Use Multisearch to find journals and ejournals.
Here is a selection of print and ejournals available through the library. Click the "i" icon to quickly see if the journal is available in print or online
-
ACM Journal on Emerging Technologies in Computing Systems
The journal provides comprehensive coverage of innovative work in the specification, design analysis, simulation, verification, testing, and evaluation of computing systems constructed out of emerging technologies and advanced semiconductors. Also of interest are innovations in system design for green and sustainable computing, and computing-driven solutions to emerging areas in biotechnology. -
Big Data Mining and Analytics
Big Data Mining and Analytics (Published by Tsinghua University Press) discovers hidden patterns, correlations, insights and knowledge through mining and analyzing large amounts of data obtained from various applications. It addresses the most innovative developments, research issues and solutions in big data research and their applications.
-
Computer
by
Computer, the flagship publication of the IEEE Computer Society, publishes peer-reviewed articles written for and by computer researchers and practitioners representing the full spectrum of computing and information technology, from hardware to software and from emerging research to new applications. The aim is to provide more technical substance than trade magazines and more practical ideas than research journals. Computer seeks to deliver useful information for all computing professionals and students, including computer scientists, engineers, and practitioners of all levels.
-
Internet of things
Engineering Cyber Physical Human Systems Internet of Things; Engineering Cyber Physical Human Systems is a comprehensive journal encouraging cross collaboration between researchers, engineers and practitioners in the field of IoT & Cyber Physical Human Systems.
-
SN Computer Science
SN Computer Science is a broad-based, hybrid, peer reviewed journal that publishes original research in all the disciplines of computer science including various inter-disciplinary aspects.
Here are some website you may find useful. Remember to always check the quality and reliability of resources you find on websites.
-
Arxiv arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for nearly 2.4 million scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.
-
BASE BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. The index contains more than 400 million records from more than 11,000 content providers. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed records for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
-
CiteSeerX CiteSeerx is an evolving scientific literature digital library and search engine that has focused primarily on the literature in computer and information science.
-
Core The world’s largest collection of open access research papers
Research Help
Need an idea? - Here are some suggested places to start:
- Multisearch - limit your results by subject or topic.
- Google Scholar - useful for finding existing research.
Not sure how to develop your topic?
- Watch this online tutorial from Sage Research Methods : Defining a topic.
- Read the Identifying a subject for an assignment or research area page of our Research Skills: Finding and evaluating information for essays and theses guide.
Referencing is an essential skill for academic writing. It is important to acknowledge the work of others to avoid plagiarism.
We recommend you complete the following online tutorials from the MTU Libraries Assignment Toolkit.
Here is a link to MTU Kerry Library's Guide to Referencing, Citations and Avoiding Plagiarism (MTU Kerry).
Look for a peer-review limiter on your search results page.
How do I know if a journal is peer-reviewed?
- If you are searching a library database such as CINAHL, use the peer-reviewed limiter.
- Google the journal home page; this information is almost always located on the publisher's website.
- Ask a librarian for help.
Be careful, however! Not all articles within a peer-reviewed journal are peer-reviewed articles.
TIP: Peer-reviewed articles will have an abstract and a list of references.
We recommend you complete the following online tutorials from the MTU Library Assignment Toolkit.
You can also check out the MTU Kerry's Academic Success Centre or MTU Cork's Academic Learning Centre
Contact Us
Related Guides
-
Clearing your browser cache and cookies Problems accessing the library's online resources are often fixed by clearing your cache and cookies
-
Finding and Using eBooks An ebook is an electronic version of a print book. As well as print books, the library provides access to many thousands of ebooks across a broad range of subject areas.
Recent Books
