Farm Machinery: Home
Home
Welcome
Start here
Search the library's print and online resources to find books, ebooks, articles, recordings and more.
Here is a short guide to help you get started: Multisearch: A Quick Overview
The library catalogue lists physical items and ebooks purchased by the library.
Use Multisearch to search the library catalogue and online collections at the same time.
Google Scholar can be a useful search tool when starting your research, but it should not be the only tool you use. However, while you know you can rely on MTU library resources, it is up to you to make sure content you find on Google Scholar is safe to use for your assignments and research.
Did you know you can link Google Scholar to MTU Kerry library so it always tells you when the full text of an article is available in the library?
Here is our Link MTU Kerry Library to Google Scholar guide.
Use the A-Z of Online Journals to find a specific journal or journals on a specific subject.
Searching the library's online resources is a bit different to searching Google. Here are some tips to get you started:
- List keywords for each of the main concepts or ideas in your research question
- What is the impact of global warming on Adelie penguins on the Antartic continent
- Enter keywords not sentences into the search box
- Join keywords using AND
- global warming AND penguins
- Use OR between words with similar meanings and put OR'd words in brackets
- Adelie penguins AND (global warming OR climate change)
- Use quotation marks to look for phrases
- Adelie penguings AND "global warming"
- Try searching with different combinations of keywords and see what works best.
- Use your search results to find new keywords
Things to think about when making your list of keywords
- Synonyms (words that mean the same thing)
- drug abuse, drug addction or substance abuse
- Acronyms (abbreviations)
- GP or General Practitioner, HSE or Health and Safety Executive
- Specialist language
- narcotics vs drugs
- Word endings
- addict* will find addict, addicts, addicted, addiction, but child will not find children.
- Phrases (looks for words together and in order)
- "controlled substance"
- UK vs American Spelling
- colour vs color, analyse vs analyze, centre vs centre
For more search help, check out out the Effective Searching Module of the Assignment Toolkit. and our Top Tips for Smarter Searching guide for more search hints
Information Sources for (Subject)
Use these databases to do a more focused search for journal articles that relate to your music topic. Click on the "i" icon to see a description for each database.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is a scholarly collection offering thousands of full-text journals covering a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology
-
Sage Premier Journals This link opens in a new window SAGE Research Methods provides material to guide users through every step of the research process.It also features a Methods Map to help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research. Content includes reference works, journal articles, instructional videos, books (including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher) and more.
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect provides abstract and full text access to scholarly research in the Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences and Social Sciences and Humanity. Subject coverage is broad and includes topics such as business, management, accounting, finance, economics, early childhood, education and tourism.
-
Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window Springer provides access to a comprehensive collection of quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Subjects: Biological Sciences, Business and Management, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth and Environmental Sciences, Health Sciences, Humanities and Social Sciences, Materials Science, Mathematics, Physics and Astronomy, Statistics, Technology and Engineering.
-
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Access to full-text journal articles across all key academic research areas. Subjects covered include: business, chemistry, computer science, engineering, law, life sciences, mathematic, physics, psychology and social sciences.
You can find a full list of library e-resources on the library's A-Z of Online Resources page.
Use Multisearch to find books and ebooks. Here is a selection of print and electronic books available through the library.
-
Bearings and seals: a basic guide to failure diagnosis and repair
by
This book is from the John Deere Fundamentals of Service series.
Call Number: 621.822 BEAISBN: 0866914080Publication Date: 2014 -
Combine Harvesting Textbook
by
This book is from the John Deere Fundamentals of Service series.
Call Number: 631.3 GRIISBN: 9780866913973Publication Date: 2017 -
Electronic and electrical systems : a service, testing, and maintenance guide for electronic and electrical systems in off-road vehicles, trucks and buses.
by
This book is from the John Deere Fundamentals of Service series.
Call Number: 629.254 ELEISBN: 9780866914093Publication Date: 2015 -
Farm Machinery, 6th Edition
by
Farm Machinery is the standard book on the current theory and practice of farm mechanisation for students and farmers. First published in 1979, this new sixth edition incorporates much new text together with 280 new colour photographs illustrating the steady flow of developments in farm mechanisation that have taken place over the past decade. Recent advances in computer technology and satellite field mapping are included and new content enriches the earlier material dealing with the working principles and operation of the vast array of the somewhat less sophisticated farm tractors and machines still in use on British farms. There are chapters on tractors, cultivation and drilling equipment, crop care and harvest machinery. Further chapters deal with farmyard and estate maintenance equipment, mechanical handlers, dairy equipment, irrigation farm power and the farm workshop. References are made to the UK Health & Safety at Work Act and other safety regulations. These summarise their main requirements, but they should only be taken as a guide. Brian Bell has had a long involvement with farm machinery that started with an apprenticeship in a tractor dealership. After a teaching career on farm machinery at Otley College in Suffolk he retired as Vice Principal in 1993 when he was awarded the MBE for services to agriculture. Brian Bell has written a number of books and made seventeen DVDs on modern and vintage tractors and machinery.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781910456064Publication Date: 2020 -
Maintaining Small-Farm Equipment
by
This Storey BASICS® title offers exactly what you need to know to keep your small farm's equipment in good working order. Long-time farmers Steve and Ann Larkin Hansen cover everything from tractors and mowers to trimmers, tillers, ATVs, plows, discs, drills, planters, cultivators, mechanical rakes, and balers, showing you how to care for your equipment to prevent problems and how to diagnose and fix the things that do go wrong.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781612125282Publication Date: 2015
Use Multisearch to find journals and ejournals.
Here is a selection of print and ejournals available through the library. Click the "i" icon to quickly see if the journal is available in print or online
-
Applied Engineering in Agriculture
This peer-reviewed journal publishes applications of engineering and technology research that address agricultural, food, and biological systems problems.
-
International Journal of Agriculture and Biological Engineering
Covers agricultural, food and biological engineering, including: Power & machinery system; land & water engineering; bio-environmental engineering; renewable energy system; agro-product & food processing engineering; emerging science, engineering & technologies, and editorial contents.
-
Computers and Electronics in Agriculture
Computers and Electronics in Agriculture provides international coverage of advances in the development and application of computer hardware, software, electronic instrumentation, and control systems for solving problems in agriculture, including agronomy, horticulture (in both its food and amenity aspects), forestry, aquaculture, and animal/livestock farming.
-
Profi international : tractors and farm machinery
Professional farm machinery journal.
Print journal available to read in the library.
Here are some website you may find useful. Remember to always check the quality and reliability of resources you find on websites.
-
Farm Tractor & Machinery Trade Association The Farm Tractor & Machinery Trade Association is recognised as the official representative trade body of the Irish farm machinery industry. It aims to promote the highest standards of professionalism in the farm machinery trade.
-
Irish Farmers Association The IFA is Ireland’s largest farming representative organisation. We have protected and defended the interests of Irish farmers in all sectors for more than 65 years. We represent Irish farmers at home and in Europe, lobbying and campaigning for improved conditions and incomes for farm families. We also provide representation, support and advice to members on an individual basis. IFA is a democratic association, organised in branches, County Executive and National Committees. Through our democratic structure, each member can have their say.
-
Irish Farmers Journal Content includes: Digital e-paper archive, Knowledge hub, Video hub, Weekly podcasts and weekly farm shows to watch. To sign up for a free account, students simply need to: 1. Go to www.farmersjournal.ie/studenthub 2.Select MTU Kerry from the dropdown menu 3. Login into using your Tnumber and password.
-
Professional Agricultural Contractors of Ireland The Professional Agricultural Contractors of Ireland provides Professional Independent Representation for Agricultural Contractors in Ireland
-
Teagasc Teagasc – the Agriculture and Food Development Authority – is the national body providing integrated research, advisory and training services to the agriculture and food industry and rural communities.
Research Help
Need an idea? - Here are some suggested places to start:
- Multisearch - limit your results by subject or topic.
- Google Scholar - useful for finding existing research.
Not sure how to develop your topic?
- Watch this online tutorial from Sage Research Methods : Defining a topic.
- Read the Identifying a subject for an assignment or research area page of our Research Skills: Finding and evaluating information for essays and theses guide.
Referencing is an essential skill for academic writing. It is important to acknowledge the work of others to avoid plagiarism.
We recommend you complete the following online tutorials from the MTU Libraries Assignment Toolkit.
Here is a link to MTU Kerry Library's Guide to Referencing, Citations and Avoiding Plagiarism (MTU Kerry).
Look for a peer-review limiter on your search results page.
How do I know if a journal is peer-reviewed?
- If you are searching a library database such as CINAHL, use the peer-reviewed limiter.
- Google the journal home page; this information is almost always located on the publisher's website.
- Ask a librarian for help.
Be careful, however! Not all articles within a peer-reviewed journal are peer-reviewed articles.
TIP: Peer-reviewed articles will have an abstract and a list of references.
We recommend you complete the following online tutorials from the MTU Library Assignment Toolkit.
You can also check out the MTU Kerry's Academic Success Centre or MTU Cork's Academic Learning Centre
Contact Us
Related Guides
You Tube Video
Recent Books
